IndyCar »

2013 Indy 500: Pagenaud heads Carb Day shakedown

IndyCar has announced that the starting grid for the second race of its three double-header events at Detroit, Toronto and Houston will be decided in two groups running for 12 minutes, rather than the original one session of 30 minutes previously planned.

Group 1 will be for those cars that finished the previous day's practice in odd-numbered positions, and Group 2 for the even-numbered finishers. Times from the two groups will be combined to form the overall grid. The grid for the first race of the double headers will follow the usual three-round format seen at road and street course events.

"Splitting qualifications for the second race will give a premium to the amount of track time available to each competitor," said IndyCar's race director Beaux Barfield. "It will improve the ability for competitors to get a clean lap and post a true lap time."

Iowa sponsor named

The presenting sponsor of next month's Iowa Corn Indy 250 will be sponsored by Monsanto's DEKALB brand of seed corn when it takes place at Iowa Speedway in Newton on June 23.

"This is a wonderful opportunity to work closely with the Iowa Corn Growers Association and Iowa Speedway, as well as feature the DEKALB brand's commitment to powerful innovation and performance," stated Jason Hoag, DEKALB Brand Lead.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simon Pagenaud on the second day of practice at Indianapolis Motor Speedway - May 12, 2013. (Picture Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Simon Pagenaud at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Simon Pagenaud at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. (Photo Credit: Pete Howard for IndyCar Media)
Simon Pagenaud at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Dallara, IndyCar, [Credit: IndyCar]
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.