Winning the Indianapolis 500 is mostly about a place in history - but the pay ain't bad either.

The total prize money Tony Kanaan takes away from Indianapolis Motor Speedway this year is a very satisfying $2,353,355, comprised of a variety of prizes from various sponsors including the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, timekeepers TAG Heuer and from the IZOD IndyCar Series prize fund itself.

The total purse for the race is $12,020,065, with all the entries receiving a pay-off of at least $225k for their month's work in May. The cheques were handed over in a special Victory Awards Celebration held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Monday evening.

Related Articles

The prize money is slightly down on the amount won last year by Dario Franchitti. He took home $2,474,280 after winning the 2012 Indianapolis 500, also under caution, after fending off Takuma Sato into the final lap of that race. The previous year, Dan Wheldon had walked away with $2,567,255 after he won the 2011 event when race leader JR Hildebrand crashed in the final corner of the 200-lap, 500 mile race.

But this year's prize money is still far ahead of the amount that Franchitti won for his first Indy 500 victory in 2007, which saw him rewarded with a total purse of a 'mere' $1,645,233.

The Indy prize money drops off sharply after the winning spot, with second place Carlos Munoz handed $964,205 which includes a prize for being top Indy 500 rookie on race day, and $583,005 going to third place Ryan Hunter-Reay - who lost the lead at the final restart and was then unable to counter-attack before Franchitti's crash brought out the final yellow under which the race finished.

$469,755 goes to fourth-place man Marco Andretti, while Justin Wilson's take-home pay of $337,805 includes reward not just for his best ever finish in the Indy 500 in fifth place but also for setting the fastest lap of the race - 226.940mph (39.6580s) on lap 185.

Further back in tenth place, Ed Carpenter's prize of $405,955 includes the $100,000 Verizon P1 Award he earned as as pole winner the previous weekend which saw him lead the field to the green flag on Sunday.

Total prize money

1. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet $2,353,355
2. #26 Carlos Munoz * Andretti Autosport Chevrolet $964,205
3. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Chevrolet $583,005
4. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Chevrolet $469,755
5. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda $337,805
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet $313,755
7. #2 AJ Allmendinger Team Penske Chevrolet $261,155
8. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton Honda $262,805
9. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda $269,305
10. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet $405,955
11. #22 Oriol Servi? Panther/DRR Chevrolet $271,305
12. #8 Ryan Briscoe Ganassi Honda $230,555
13. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Racing Honda $264,805
14. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda $268,005
15. #18 Ana Beatriz Dale Coyne Racing Honda $262,805
16. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt-Peterson Honda $227,305
17. #78 Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Chevrolet $262,805
18. #5 EJ Viso Andretti Autosport-HVM Chevrolet $276,555
19. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet $273,255
20. #16 James Jakes Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda $227,555
21. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport Chevrolet $267,955
22. #41 Conor Daly * AJ Foyt Racing Honda $227,305
23. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda $277,805
24. #98 Alex Tagliani Bryan Herta Autosport Honda $263,255
25. #15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda $262,805
26. #81 Katherine Legge Schmidt-Peterseon Honda $225,305
27. #60 Townsend Bell Panther Racing Chevrolet $237,255
28. #21 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda $264,305
29. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Racing Chevrolet $262,805
30. #63 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Racing Honda $225,305
31. #91 Buddy Lazier Lazier Partners Chevrolet $230,305
32. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Racing Chevrolet $225,305
33. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther Racing Chevrolet $264,305