» BACK TO CRASH.NET

Crash.Net IndyCar News

Penalties announced following Detroit double-header

7 June 2013

As the teams arrive in Texas for this weekend's Firestone 550 at the 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway, one team and three drivers have learned that they face penalties for actions during last weekend's Chevrolet Indy Dual at Belle Isle in Detroit.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing has been handed a $10,000 fine for two infractions relating to the rear wing of the #16 car driven by Britain's James Jakes. The rules breached were sections 14.6.4.6 (rear wing mainplane must be set at 0.0 degrees plus or minus 0.50 degrees) and 14.6.4.9 (the mainplane trailing edge height, as measured from the chassis reference plane, is 28.060 inches plus or minus 0.050 inches) of the current IZOD IndyCar Series regulations.

In the case of the #16, the two breaches were spotted during post-qualification inspection for race 1 which saw Jakes start from third position on the grid and finish in tenth position in the race itself the following day. Jakes then went on to qualify for race 2 on the front row and finish in second place behind race winner Simon Pagenaud. The results are unaffected by the preceding Friday's technical infraction.

Ironically, RLL had only just managed to win a suspension of a previous $10k fine levied on Jakes for pit lane blend violations during the Indianapolis 500 the previous weekend. Jakes' team mate Graham Rahal had a similar fine overturned completely.

In other post-Detroit news, Dragon Racing's Sebastian Saavedra has also been penalised following events that occurred actually during the Saturday race 1 event, with the Colombian fined $30,000 for making an improper hand gesture toward Marco Andretti that was caught on live TV cameras, after contact between the two left the #6 car out of the race on lap 33.

The penalty notice added that, "Because of the public display of these actions, Saavedra will be able to work off the fine by making a series of public appearances on behalf of IndyCar throughout the remainder of the season." A similar option had previously been made available to Will Power for his notorious 'double angry birds' directed toward race control in the chaotic 2011 New Hampshire Motor Speedway event.

Saavedra's team mate Sebastien Bourdais was also in IndyCar's bad books this week, after apparently verbally abusing an official on pit road during the Sunday second race. He's been placed on probation through to the end of the year under the auspices of section 9.3.1.8 in the rule book.

And Power himself was also put under probation, after behing shown throwing his gloves at the still-running Bourdais after he himself had been spun out by the Frenchman on lap 27 of the Sunday race.

The penalty notices remind those affected that they have the right of appeal against the sanctions if they so wish.


» BACK TO CRASH.NET