Leading IndyCar outfit Andretti Autosport has become the latest team to sign up to compete in the new FIA Formula E Championship when it gets underway next year.

The team - which carried Ryan Hunter-Reay to the IndyCar crown last year - will add an entry into the electric series alongside its programmes in IndyCar, Indy Lights, the Pro Mazda Championship and in the USF2000 National Championship.

The announcement, made at the team's headquarters in Indianapolis, sees Andretti Autosport become the third of ten teams to sign up for the series after Drayson Racing and China Racing.

"It's an honour for Andretti Autosport to have been selected as one of the ten founding Formula E teams for the inaugural season," team CEO Michael Andretti said. "I look forward to further exploring the series and helping build the future of open-wheel racing across the world."

Series boss Alejandro Agag said he was thrilled to have the team on-board for the inaugural season, which is due to feature races in both Miami and Los Angeles.

"We are absolutely delighted to welcome Andretti Autosport to the series; a team with an incredible racing pedigree and track record who I have no doubt is going to make a big contribution to the FIA Formula E Championship," he said. "It's fantastic too for such a highly-established outfit to show its commitment to sustainable motoring and with two US races on the inaugural calendar - Los Angeles and Miami - I'm sure American motorsport fans will have a lot to cheer come race day.

"As well being the first team from the US, today's announcement now means we have three teams from three different continents and we're looking forward to announcing many more over the coming months."

Reports suggest that the deal could see one or more of the Andretti Autosport drivers appear in Formula E at some point in the future.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment