IndyCar »

Vote for your 2013 IndyCar Driver of the Year

CLICK HERE to rate each of the IZOD IndyCar Series drivers out of ten for their 2013 performances...
It's been a topsy-turvy season in the IZOD IndyCar Series, with the title coming down to two drivers who didn't even win a race until midway through the season. That makes it an especially hard year to know who will be the ultimate recipient of the accolade of IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013!

Early on it was wall about first time winners, with James Hinchcliffe securing a break-through victory at the season opener at St Petersburg and following it up with two more wins at Sao Paulo and Iowa, and then it was three races into the season at Long Beach when former F1 driver Takuma Sato made history by becoming the first ever Japanese driver to clinch a race in in the series. Simon Pagenaud finally showed his full potential with victory in Detroit in just his second full season in IndyCar and would go on to win again later in the season at Baltimore, and Charlie Kimball became the fourth addition of the year to the ranks of series race winners at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course - the most number of new faces on the top step of the podium in a single season since 1965.

All of which made it hard to tell how the championship battle itself would play out. It wasn't until eight races in that the powerhouse teams of Penske and Ganassi woke up and make their presence felt after an oddly lacklustre first half of the year, with Helio Castroneves wining in Texas in June and Scott Dixon claiming what would be the first of three consecutive wins at Pocono the following month. It was the start of a fierce title battle between the pair that would go all the way down to the wire in October with the season finale at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California finally crowning Dixon with his third series championship.

Will one of these drivers be your choice for the - or will it be the ever-popular Brazilian veteran Tony Kanaan, who surged into first place to win the 97th running of the world-famous Indianapolis 500 and finally earn his place on the Borg-Warner Trophy alongside his great friends Dan Wheldon and Dario Franchitti?

Who impressed you the most? There's certainly plenty to consider as you go through and rate the top 24 drivers in the series - that's every full-time driver and race-winner in 2013. And it's your chance to vote now: simply give each driver a rating from one (poor) to ten (outstanding). To start submitting your driver ratings, all you have to do is CLICK HERE - and if you want to let us know who you're supporting and why, then just leave a comment in the Have Your Say section below.

Once all the votes are in, we'll be back to report on how all your favourites fared and who the winner is. Don't miss out to have your say, and don't leave your favourite driver hanging or you'll only have yourself to blame if someone else gets crowned IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013!

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Start of the Grand Prix of Baltimore presented by SRT on Sunday September 1 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Start of race 1 in Toronto - Saturday, July 13 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Mike Conway takes an early lead in race 1 of the Detroit double-header - Saturday, June 1 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media.)
Ed Carpenter leads at the start of the 2013 Indianapolis 500 - Sunday, May 26 2013. (Photo Credit: Bret Kelley for IndyCar Media)
The start of the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports park - April 2013. (Photo Credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.