After a topsy-turvy season in the IZOD IndyCar Series which saw four first time race winners (James Hinchcliffe, Takuma Sato, Simon Pagenaud and Charlie Kimball), a new Indianapolis 500 champion in the veteran racer Tony Kaanaan, and a title battle that was wide open for most of the year, there are plenty of candidates for the 2013 IndyCar Driver of the Year vote.

It wasn't until eight races in that the powerhouse teams of Penske and Ganassi woke up and make their presence felt after an oddly lacklustre first half of the year, with Helio Castroneves wining in Texas in June and Scott Dixon claiming what would be the first of three consecutive wins at Pocono the following month. It was the start of a fierce title battle between the pair that would go all the way down to the wire in October with the season finale at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California finally crowning Dixon with his third series championship.

Will one of these drivers be your choice for the - or will it be Dario Franchitti, who since we first opened the voting for Driver of the Year has announced that he's retiring from racing as a result of the injuries he sustained in a horror crash in the penultimate race of the year at Houston. Should be get the accolade in lieu of all the years of service he's put into the sport, for his three Indy 500 titles and four championships, and for being an all-round good-guy?

Related Articles

There's certainly plenty to consider as you go through and rate the top 24 drivers in the series - that's every full-time driver and race-winner in 2013. And it's your chance to vote now: simply give each driver a rating from one (poor) to ten (outstanding). To start submitting your driver ratings, all you have to do is CLICK HERE - and if you want to let us know who you're supporting and why, then just leave a comment in the Have Your Say section below.

Once all the votes are in, we'll be back to report on how all your favourites fared and who the winner is. Don't miss out to have your say, and don't leave your favourite driver hanging or you'll only have yourself to blame if someone else gets crowned IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013!