IndyCar »

Who is your star of IndyCar for 2013?

CLICK HERE to rate each of the IZOD IndyCar Series drivers out of ten for their 2013 performances...
After a topsy-turvy season in the IZOD IndyCar Series which saw four first time race winners (James Hinchcliffe, Takuma Sato, Simon Pagenaud and Charlie Kimball), a new Indianapolis 500 champion in the veteran racer Tony Kaanaan, and a title battle that was wide open for most of the year, there are plenty of candidates for the 2013 IndyCar Driver of the Year vote.

It wasn't until eight races in that the powerhouse teams of Penske and Ganassi woke up and make their presence felt after an oddly lacklustre first half of the year, with Helio Castroneves wining in Texas in June and Scott Dixon claiming what would be the first of three consecutive wins at Pocono the following month. It was the start of a fierce title battle between the pair that would go all the way down to the wire in October with the season finale at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California finally crowning Dixon with his third series championship.

Will one of these drivers be your choice for the - or will it be Dario Franchitti, who since we first opened the voting for Driver of the Year has announced that he's retiring from racing as a result of the injuries he sustained in a horror crash in the penultimate race of the year at Houston. Should be get the accolade in lieu of all the years of service he's put into the sport, for his three Indy 500 titles and four championships, and for being an all-round good-guy?

There's certainly plenty to consider as you go through and rate the top 24 drivers in the series - that's every full-time driver and race-winner in 2013. And it's your chance to vote now: simply give each driver a rating from one (poor) to ten (outstanding). To start submitting your driver ratings, all you have to do is CLICK HERE - and if you want to let us know who you're supporting and why, then just leave a comment in the Have Your Say section below.

Once all the votes are in, we'll be back to report on how all your favourites fared and who the winner is. Don't miss out to have your say, and don't leave your favourite driver hanging or you'll only have yourself to blame if someone else gets crowned IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013!

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Action from lap 91 of the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California on Saturday night, October 19 2013. (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Simona de Silvestro gets airborne in qualifying for the Grand Prix of Baltimore presented by SRT on Saturday, August 31 2013. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Will Power racing during the Grand Prix of Sonoma IndyCar race in Sonoma, California on Sunday, August 25, 2013 (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Start of the Grand Prix of Sonoma IndyCar race in Sonoma, California on Sunday, August 25, 2013 (Photo Credit: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Action during the IndyCar finale, MATV 500 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana California on Saturday, October 19, 2013. (Picture Credit: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.