Crash.Net IndyCar News

IndyCar Driver of the Year vote: 8th

24 December 2013

Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013:
8. Charlie Kimball

Birthplace: Camarillo, California USA
Birthdate: February 20, 1985
Team: Chip Ganassi Racing
2013 starts: 19
Poles: 0
Wins: 1
Top 5: 3
Top 10: 10
Championship points: 427
Championship position: 9th
Crash.net IndyCar Driver of 2011 position: 22nd
Crash.net IndyCar Driver of 2012 position: 21st

Season summary:

With the Ganassi team dominated by two of the sport's superstars in Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti, it's been all too easy to overlook the steadily improving Charlie Kimball. Last year he came tantalisingly close to capturing victory at Toronto, and finally in 2013 the breakthrough came with his maiden series win at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Best of all, it was not a result of circumstance or a lucky fluke but was rather the fully deserved culmination of an impressive weekend-long performance. The victory made Kimball the fourth first time winner of the season (the most the series has had since 1965) and with nine other top ten finishes it also saw Kimball clinch ninth place in the championship - one ahead of four-time champ Franchitti, no less. No wonder he's leapt up in your estimations in the voting this year.

Is eighth about right for Kimball? You can share your opinions simply by clicking on 'Post your comments'. And don't forget to check back tomorrow to see who has been ranked in seventh place!

Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013 results so far:

9. Simona de Silvestro
10. Ryan Hunter-Reay