Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013: 3. Tony Kanaan

Birthplace: December 31, 1974 Birthdate: Salvador, Brazil Team: KV Racing Technology 2013 starts: 19 Poles: 0 Wins: 1 Top 5: 6 Top 10: 7 Championship points: 397 Championship position: 11th IndyCar Driver of 2011 position: 3rd IndyCar Driver of 2012 position: 11th

Season summary:

Ladies and gentleman, please welcome your 2013 Indianapolis 500 champion! For Tony Kanaan that one success alone makes this a banner year regardless of how the championship went - which in truth was rather lacklustre with just six other top ten finishes in the entire season, lower than any previous year he's spent in the IndyCar Series. Perhaps that's why Kanaan has finally allowed himself to be lured away from his old pal Jimmy Vasser's KVSH Racing team by an offer from none other than Chip Ganassi, which means that the Brazilian veteran will be in one of the best cars on the grid and right alongside the reigning series champion (Scott Dixon) for in 2014. That outcome - alongside winning the Indy 500, of course - makes this a huge year for Kanaan.

Is third about right for Kanaan? You can share your opinions simply by clicking on 'Post your comments'. And don't forget to check back tomorrow to see who has been ranked in second place!

Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2013 results so far:

4. Helio Castroneves
5. Simon Pagenaud
6. Dario Franchitti
7. Justin Wilson
8. Charlie Kimball
9. Simona de Silvestro
10. Ryan Hunter-Reay


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment