IndyCar »

Power gets serious in Saturday practice

Having taken it relatively easy on Friday, Penske's Will Power demonstrated that he was serious about getting down to work with the top time on Saturday morning.
The final practice session before qualifying for the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach got underway on Saturday morning with everyone quickly getting down to work at perfecting their flying laps and everyone successfully managing to stay away from any significant incidents.

Penske's Will Power was the first driver of the weekend to dip under the one minute nine seconds threshold, and his team mate Helio Castroneves briefly joined him at the top of the timing screens before Dale Coyne Racing's Justin Wilson stepped up to the plate and proceeded to push the times down further. The two Ryans - Briscoe and Hunter-Reay - were also busily having a private duel over second spot for a spell.

With 15 minutes remaining it was the the turn of the 2011 Long Beach race winner Mike Conway to go to the top of the times for Ed Carpenter Racing, before Power returned to the fray and laid down a marker of 1:08.1696s on the 1.968-mile, 11-turn street circuit. That was now almost a full second faster than Friday's best time that had been set by Simon Pagenaud in the Schmidt Hamilton Peterson Racing #77, which had started today's activity with a small electrical gremlin.

The final minutes of the 45-minute session ended with a flurry of flying laps, none of which could oust Power from the top and his time stood as the best of third practice. However Conway was shuffled all the way down to tenth place by all the late gains, with Josef Newgarden ending up taking second spot for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing just 0.0022s shy of Power's benchmark, while James Hinchcliffe was just under two tenths back in third place in the Andretti Autosport #22.

Sebastien Bourdais continued his strong run for new team KVSH Racing in fourth place just ahead of Hunter-Reay, while Wilson ended up in sixth place just ahead of Pagenaud. There was also good news for Juan Pablo Montoya, as the Long Beach circuit - where he claimed his first CART win in 1999 - proved more suited to his driving style than the season opener in St Petersburg as he posted the eighth fastest time of the session, just ahead of the English rookie Jack Hawksworth who continued to impress in ninth.

In total, 19 of the 23 drivers in action remained within a second of the top time. While Chevrolet boosted Power to the top spot, Honda won the manufacturer honours for the session with slight advantage of six-to-four in the top ten; in general, the Chevy cars seemed clustered in the middle of the timesheets while Honda had the edge at the top - but was also disproportionately present at the bottom with five of the slowest seven cars from the Honda stable.

Among those looking unusually slow in this session were Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing pair Oriol Servia and Graham Rahal in 19th and 20th respectively, while Charlie Kimball in 21st and Marco Andretti in 22nd were also clearly having some issues finding pace on Saturday morning.

Qualifying gets underway on Saturday afternoon at 1.15pm local time, which is 9.15pm BST.

See full Friday practice 1 times and results
See full Friday practice 2 times and results
See full Saturday practice 3 times and results

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power signs an autograph for a young fan at Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Will Power on course during practice at Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Will Power in the fountain turn complex during practice at Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Will Power in the fountain turn complex during practice at Long Beach (Photo by: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.