IndyCar »

Power on pole for Firestone 600

Penske's Will Power will start from pole position for the second consecutive race, after comprehensively beating the rest in qualifying for the Firestone 600.
CLICK: Practice 1 results
CLICK: Qualifying results
CLICK: Practice 2 results

Will Power will once again lead the field to the green flag for this weekend's Verizon IndyCar Series race, the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway on Saturday evening.

Power set a blistering pace under the searing afternoon sun, recording an average speed of 218.89mph after two timed laps of the 1.455-mile high-banked oval located just outside Fort Worth. That put him 0.2331s ahead of Josef Newgarden, who sealed the remaining front row position for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing in Friday afternoon's single car qualifying time trials.

"I was actually surprised by the speed on the first lap and thought 'I have to do it again,'" said Power, who won here in 2011. "I'm very focused on the race. Last year, Helio was very strong, so I'll try to get a car that strong for the race if I can."

This year, Power's team mate Helio Castroneves did not fare so well in qualifying and will start from down in 14th position. The third member of the Penske line up, Juan Pablo Montoya, managed to qualify in fourth place in his first appearance at the venue.

"I had a bit of an understeer with the Verizon Chevy, but I'm pretty happy with that lap," reported the former F1 and NASCAR star. "We tested here a couple of months ago and I think we learned a lot. The weather is nowhere close to the same as it was then, but hopefully we can still apply some of the things we learned."

Tony Kanaan will start from third place alongside Montoya, having earlier set the pace in the sole 75-minute morning practice session held before qualifying. Kanaan had completed 53 laps in that session and posted a best lap speed of 219.382mph (23.8762s) putting him at the head of a Ganassi 1-2-3 with Scott Dixon second fastest and Ryan Briscoe edging Marco Andretti for third place.

"We have had a good car so far today here in Texas and we were strong this morning leading practice," said Kanaan. "I just missed it a little on our second lap in qualifying. I think it was something when I shifted at the wrong time and that slowed us up a little on that second lap. Either way it's still a good race car and I'm looking forward to practice tonight."

In qualifying, Dixon was able to secure seventh place on the grid while Briscoe fell back to 13th place, meaning he will start alongside Castroneves.

"The Target car was obviously really good this morning and we were happy the way we unloaded," reported Dixon. "This afternoon in qualifying we ran a good first lap which had us second overall, but our second lap was a lot slower, which we knew would be the case. I think we should be strong over long runs and good for the race tomorrow night."

"We had a really good first practice this morning and I was able to run in first for most of the session and then ended up in third behind my teammates in the end," added Briscoe. "I think we were just off on the gears for qualifying and I wasn't able to put together the lap times we were hoping for.

"In qualifying it's the fine details that can really make you lose quite a bit of speed and that was definitely the case for us today. We'll be able to go back and get the problem fixed and be ready to put in a good race tomorrow night."

Indy 500 polewinner Ed Carpenter will start from fifth place alongside Grand Prix of Indianapolis winner Simon Pagenaud, while Dale Coyne Racing's Justin Wilson will start alongside Dixon in eighth place.

"I am disappointed with the car in qualifying, Carpenter admitted. "It felt good in practice this morning and the first lap is good but the car really fell off the second lap. There was just no grip.

"Texas Motor Speedway is the toughest oval track we run now," he added. "It's tougher than Indy, Fontana and others. We haven't had pack racing since 2005 or 2006 here. It's been single file here since 2007 but everyone still thinks we race in packs here. That's just not the case."

The drivers also had one last additional half-hour practice session at 6.45pm local time to enable them to set up their cars for the cooler evening conditions in which the race itself will be held. The session once again resulted in a Ganassi 1-2-3 this time with Dixon leading Kanaan and Briscoe. No one was able to improve their times form the first practice session.

The green flag for the Firestone 600 is due at 7.50pm local time (12.50am BST) on Saturday evening.

Full Practice 1 results
Full qualifying results
Full Practice 2 results

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power on pit lane prior to qualifications for the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Josef Newgarden on course during practice for the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Will Power wins the pole for the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Firestone tyres during Indianapolis test   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.