IndyCar »

Filippi lands expanded campaign

Luca Filippi will contest eleven of the 17 IndyCar Series races in 2015 after signing with CFH Racing.

CFH Racing has added Luca Filippi to its inaugural driver line-up ahead of the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series season.

GP2 Series veteran Filippi will pilot the Fuzzy's Award Winning Vodka Chevrolet at all road and street course events during the year, effectively replacing race-winner Mike Conway, while Ed Carpenter, the only owner/driver in the series, will continue to pilot the #20 car at oval events. CFH Racing's two-car effort is rounded out by Josef Newgarden, who will drive the #67 sister car in all races.

"It's a great feeling and I can't wait to race and share the #20 with Ed this year," Filippi said, "I have to thank Ed, Fuzzy's Vodka and CFH Racing for this fantastic opportunity and I look forward to the successes we will enjoy this season!"

After beginning his career in karting, Filippi worked his way up the European formula car ladder. His skill and speed caught the attention of the F1 paddock, where the Italian was hired to be a test driver by several different teams in 2005, 2007 and 2008, but, unable to land a full-time race ride, his success has come in the supporting series, notably second places finishes in the GP2, Auto GP GP2 Asia standings before taking his talents to sporadic IndyCar outings in 2013 and '14, where he drove for Bryan Herta Autosport and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing respectively.

"We have seen the potential that Luca has shown over the past two seasons in his limited races, and we feel that he will allow us to continue to compete for wins,” Carpenter, who co-owns CFH Racing alongside Sarah Fisher and Wink Hartman, commented, “I cannot wait to get the season started so we can work towards our goal of claiming the entrant points championship."

Filippi effectively replaces Conway, who was recently confirmed as part of Toyota's WEC line-up for 2015, and will drive for CFH Racing in eleven of the 17 events on the 2015 calendar, including Long Beach and Toronto, where his predecessor won in 2014. Carpenter claimed his eponymous team's third victory on the oval of Texas Motor Speedway.

With CFH Racing entering two cars in 2015, Fisher stalwart Newgarden will also have a team-mate for the first time in his IndyCar career.

"Having Luca join the CFH group is very exciting,” the American admitted, “He brings such a wealth of open wheel experience and talent. It's critical to have a fast driver in the seat next to you that pushes you every weekend and that you can learn from. He's going to be a tough guy to beat and that's exactly what we need to elevate our street and road course game."

"Josef will be a very strong team-mate to work with on the road and street courses,” Filippi countered, “I'm looking forward to learning from him and watching Ed on the ovals as well. I'm really excited!"

The 29-year old Italian will get behind the wheel of the CFH car early next week as he joins Newgarden at Sebring International Raceway for their first test of 2015.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Luca Filippi prepares to get in his car for Practice 1. (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.