IndyCar »

Pigot adds Rolex 24 to 2016 schedule

Reigning Indy Lights champion Spencer Pigot will open his season at Daytona before making his IndyCar Series debut.
Current Indy Lights champion Spencer Pigot had added the Rolex 24 at Daytona to a 2016 programme that already includes his first appearances in the IndyCar Series.

The 22-year old is the first driver to win four Mazda development scholarships as he climbed from grassroots racing to the top of the open-wheel ladder, but will join the #55 Mazda Prototype entry at Daytona before making his first IndyCar start, pairing with full-season drivers Jonathan Bomarito and Tristan Nunez for the twice-round-the-clock marathon.

Following several lower-level championships with Mazda backing, Pigot won the Pro Mazda championship in 2014. The title earned him the scholarship to progress up to Indy Lights in 2015, where he won six races and the championship in his rookie season. With the Indy Lights championship, Pigot earned the $1m Mazda scholarship , entitling him to three IndyCar races, including the historical 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 with the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team.

“The Mazda Road to Indy has been very important to my development as a driver,” Pigot admitted, “The cars within the ladder system train you to compete at the top levels of motorsport and, because I had done a full season with the Indy Lights car with Mazda turbo power, I was able to get comfortable with the power and downforce of the Prototype pretty quickly. Driving in the Daytona 24 Hours is a new experience for me which I'm very excited about. Mazda have been a huge part of my career and I can't thank them enough for the opportunity to drive in the Rolex 24.”

Pigot will also be joined by Britain's Ben Devlin at Daytona, the sportscar veteran teaming with full-season co-drivers Tom Long and Joel Miller in the #70 entry.

Tagged as: Indycar , Rolex , mazda , spencer pigot

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mazda Prototypes unveil their 2016 liveries
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit Indy Conor Daly

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.