IndyCar »

Honda signs two-year deal to stay in IndyCar

Honda has penned a new agreement to stay in IndyCar as engine supplier until the end of the 2017, with an option to extend for a further three years
Honda has penned a new agreement to stay in IndyCar as engine supplier until the end of the 2017 season with an option to extend for a further three years.

The Japanese manufacturer has participated in the US single-seater series as an engine supplier since 2003 and its new deal means it will continue to act as the sole competition to Chevrolet.

The announcement confirms Honda will stay in IndyCar for the next two campaigns and also has the option of remaining in the series in 2018, 2019 and 2020 depending on the future direction of the sport.

"We're grateful for Honda's longstanding partnership with IndyCar the last 13 years," Mark Miles, head Hulman & Company, the parent of IndyCar and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, said. "Racing is a part of Honda's DNA and its continued investment in IndyCar – technically on the competition side, but also through sponsoring of events – is instrumental to the success and continued growth of our sport."

Scott Dixon claimed the IndyCar title last year in his Chevrolet-powered Chip Ganassi Racing machine. Honda power claimed six wins in IndyCar in 2015.

Tagged as: Honda , Chevrolet , Indycar

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Helio Castroneves leads the field down the frontstretch to start the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park on Sunday April 26 2015. (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
JR Hildebrand, IndyCar, Ed Carpenter Racing
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park,
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
2016 Indy 500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Dallara, IndyCar, [Credit: IndyCar]
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.