IndyCar »

IndyCar Phoenix: Castroneves on record pole in Phoenix

Helio Castroneves clinches pole position for the first IndyCar race to take place at the Phoenix International Raceway in more than a decade.
Helio Castroneves will start on pole for the second round of the 2016 IndyCar Series, the Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix, after establishing a new record as part of his rapid two-lap average pace of 192.324mph around the Arizona oval.

Marking IndyCar's first visit to Phoenix since 2005, Castroneves qualifying lap of 192.631mph around the 1.022 mile oval would see a record that had stood for 20 years fall to the Penske driver, ensuring him of a 46th pole position, 28 of which have been achieved on ovals.

“It's an honour to be breaking the record, which has been holding for 20 years, and now we're able to show that Verizon IndyCar Series cars are fast. The car was really on rail. We came here in the pre-season, we showed that and we kept going. The temperatures were really difficult because of the temperature and you've got to push to the limit, and we definitely pushed to the limit.”

Fellow Brazilian Tony Kanaan will start alongside him in the Chip Ganassi car with round winner Juan Pablo Montoya following up with Charlie Kimball in fourth, the quartet forming a Penske – Chip Ganass lock-out at the front.

Fastest in practice, Ed Carpeneter picked up a fifth place start for his eponymous team, ahead of Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden and top rookie Max Chilton, the former F1 driver starting eighth for his maiden IndyCar oval race.

Elsewhere, three drivers failed to set a time, with Carlo Munoz crashing out on his first lap, while James Hinchcliffe and Takuma Sato failed to participate after damaging their cars heavily in free practice smashes. Both are set to start, albeit at the back.
by Ollie Barstow

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Helio Castroneves - #3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet   [pic credit: Chris Owens/IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Will Power Indy 500 practice

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.