IndyCar »

Indianapolis 500: Ex-F1 Rossi, Chilton confirmed for Indy 500 debuts

Former Formula 1 duo Alexander Rossi and Max Chilton are set to make their rookie outings at this year's 100th running of the Indianapolis 500.
Former Formula 1 duo Alexander Rossi and Max Chilton are set to make their rookie outings at this year's 100th running of the Indianapolis 500.

The legendary oval event is set to take place on 29th May and after the official entry list had been published it was confirmed both Rossi and Chilton will make their debuts at the event after leaving F1.

Former Caterham and Manor Marussia driver Rossi heads into the event having claimed his best result of the season last weekend with tenth at Indianpolis Motor Speedway on the road course configuration and racing for Andretti Autosport is relishing the prospect of just his second-ever Oval event.

Ex-Marussia driver Chilton graduated from Indy Lights last year and after missing the start of the Freedom 100 at Indianapolis is preparing for only his fourth Oval event with Chip Ganassi Racing.

"I've never been to the Indy 500 so to be here for the month of May and feel the excitement around it is incredible," Chilton said. "You really do get a sense of what a big occasion this is for all the fans, drivers and teams. We're all looking forward to the 100th running of the Indy 500."

Six former Indy 500 winners are also included on the entry list including fellow former F1 star Juan Pablo Montoya along with three-time winner Helio Castroneves, 1996 winner Buddy Lazier, 2008 winner Scot Dixon, 2013 winner Tony Kanaan and 2014 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Runaway IndyCar championship leader Simon Pagenaud is hunting a maiden win at the event and is in hot form after three consecutive wins.

"This year's Indy 500 field contains all of the ingredients and storylines of a legendary race and sets the stage for this historic 100th running," Indianapolis Motor Speedway President J. Douglas Boles, said.

"I know IMS fans are looking forward to every minute of practice and qualification action as the stars of the Verizon IndyCar Series compete to drink milk on May 29."

Click here for full 100th running of Indianapolis 500 entry list

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Juan Pablo Montoya, driver of the #2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet V-6 IndyCar, crosses the finish line as he races to victory Sunday, May 24, 2015, winning the Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Indiana. Montoya went from near-last to first, winning the Indy 500 for the second time in his career. Will Power (left), driver of the #1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, finishes second. Chevrolet powered the top four cars in the race. (Photo by Andy Frame/LAT for Chevy Racing)
JR Hildebrand, IndyCar, Ed Carpenter Racing
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park,
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
2016 Indy 500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Dallara, IndyCar, [Credit: IndyCar]
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.