IndyCar »

IL: All change for Kentucky.

A number of familiar faces are set to return to the Firestone Indy Lights this weekend for the latest round of the season at Kentucky Speedway.

Heading the list is Robbie Pecorari, who has signed to drive a fifth Guthrie Racing entry for the remaining four races of 2008. Pecorari, who finished second for team owner Jim Guthrie's team at Kansas in April will drive the SAI Hydraulics Guthrie Racing #44 machine for the remainder of the campaign.

“Robbie has raced with us a few times this season, and the kid just has talent,” Guthrie Racing team owner Jim Guthrie said. “Adding Robbie brings even more experience and talent to our already top-class roster.”

Pecorari has made three starts for the team, including his runner-up run at Kansas. The former Firestone Indy Lights race winner hopes to make an impact in the final three race weekends of the season.

“I want to thank Jim and everyone at Guthrie Racing for giving me the opportunity to run the rest of the season with them,” he said. “We have talked many times since Star Mazda in 2005, and it is great to know I have a team that is capable of winning races behind me.”

Another veteran driver returning to the series is Jonathan Klein, who returns to Team Moore Racing as driver of the #22 TMR Xtreme Coil Drilling car for the events at Kentucky and Chicagoland.

“I am ecstatic to be back in the Indy Lights Series and working with Team Moore Racing again,” he said. "I am so thankful for this opportunity and for Tom Wood and Mark Moore going out on a limb to help make this happen, I just can't thank them enough. I think the best way to say thank you to them is to go out there and try to give TMR their first win. I'm looking forward to going to a track where I know how to produce a stout performance.”

Several other drivers will also be racing in new cars this weekend. Pablo Donoso, will drive for Joe Mobley's #3 Mo'sGold car this weekend, while Mike Potekhen and P.J. Abbott return to the series this weekend with SWE and Michael Crawford Motorsports, respectively.

Newcomer Christina Orr, a veteran of New Zealand's Toyota Racing Series, will debut with Alliance Motorsports, while Daniel Herrington makes his oval debut with his new team RLR/Andersen Racing.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Robbie Pecorari - SWE   [pic credit: IRL/Garrett]
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.