IndyCar »

IL: Lights schedule confirmed for 2009.

The Firestone Indy Lights will again offer one of the 'most diverse schedules' in motorsports in 2009, with 15 races divided among seven ovals, four temporary street circuits, and three permanent road courses, organisers announced today.

“The 2009 schedule includes three new venues and the series' first two races outside of the United States. All races will be held in conjunction with the IndyCar Series,” read a statement to the media.

“Just like the IndyCar Series champion, the Firestone Indy Lights champion has to succeed on all types of racing circuits," said Roger Bailey, executive director of the Firestone Indy Lights. "This schedule demands the ability of both drivers and teams to master a variety of venues and the challenges each one brings with the end result being a true champion and a driver that is fully prepared to be an IndyCar Series driver.”

For the seventh consecutive year, the Firestone Indy Lights season will begin competition in the state of Florida, but for the first time a doubleheader weekend on the Streets of St. Petersburg will open the campaign on April 4-5.

The series will then make its debut on the Streets of Long Beach on April 18-19 before beginning a string of four consecutive ovals which includes the series' premier event - the Firestone Freedom 100 at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 22, two days before the 93rd running of the Indianapolis 500.

The summer stretch also features a Canadian swing with debut races on the Streets of Toronto on July 11-12 and at Edmonton's City Centre Airport on July 25-26.

"The opportunity to compete on Carb Day at Indianapolis in front of more than 100,000 fans is an experience that is second to none for our drivers, teams and sponsors," Bailey added.

“Adding two events in Canada will also allow us to showcase the future stars of IndyCar Series racing to a new audience."

For the first time, the season will conclude at Homestead-Miami Speedway, which will host the Firestone Indy Lights for the seventh-consecutive season.

“Firestone Racing is quite pleased with the 2009 schedule," Al Speyer, executive director of Firestone Racing continued. "It will be absolutely fantastic to see the Firestone Indy Lights name back on the streets of Long Beach, where we held our very first Firestone Indy Lights race back in 1991, and in Toronto – another great venue at which we have a lot of history.

“Also as the sole tyre supplier to Firestone Indy Lights, the diverse schedule presents our engineers the opportunity to provide different tyres and technology that are suited to the both the ovals and road/street courses. We are quite eager to see the 2009 challengers in action in St. Pete.”

The Firestone Indy Lights is the premier ladder series for drivers and teams striving to compete in the IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500. Teams compete for nearly $4 million in prize money in cars that are second in speed only to the IndyCar Series at most tracks they visit.

The complete 2009 provisional Firestone Indy Lights schedule is as follows:

April 4 Streets of St. Petersburg
April 5 Streets of St. Petersburg
April 18 or 19 Streets of Long Beach
April 25 or 26 Kansas Speedway
May 22 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
May 30 or 31 Milwaukee Mile
June 20 or 21 Iowa Speedway
July 4 or 5 Watkins Glen International
July 11 or 12 Streets of Toronto
July 25 or 26 Edmonton City Centre Airport
August 1 Kentucky Speedway
August 8 or 9 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
August 22 or 23 Infineon Raceway
August 29 Chicagoland Speedway
October 10 or 11 Homestead-Miami Speedway

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dillon Battistini (left) battles for the lead of the Jeld-Wen 100 at Iowa Speedway with Arie Luyendyk Jr   [pic credit: IRL/McQueeney]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit Indy Conor Daly

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.