IndyCar »

Drivers test modified course at Infineon Raceway.

More than a dozen IndyCar Series drivers tested at Infineon Raceway this week in preparation for the PEAK Antifreeze & Motor Oil Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma County on August 24.

Among those testing was series points' leader Scott Dixon, who holds a 78-point advantage over Helio Castroneves with three races remaining.

“It's always nice to go back to a circuit where you've won,” said Dixon, who won last year's race on the 12-turn circuit. “It's going to be a tough race, so it's nice to get some testing in.”

While Dixon had the opportunity to turn some laps on the 2.245-mile course, Castroneves will have to rely on teammate Ryan Briscoe's assessment.

“You can't test during a race weekend, and you've got to come in with a plan and really go for it,” said Briscoe, the pole winner at the track in 2005. “Qualifying is tough, and it's important to do consistent fast laps, and then we go racing. It's nice to get a day of testing in.”

This marked the first large-scale test of the modified version of the road course that will be used by the IndyCar Series. Drivers now exit Turn 6 and go directly up the track's drag strip as opposed to veering left before the right-hander at Turn 7.

“I think you will see some new passing with this change,” said Vitor Meira, who had a best finish of third at Infineon in 2006.

“It's a tough corner because you're going from the fastest section of the track to the slowest, but it should be good.”

Other drivers who tested included Marco Andretti, Townsend Bell, A.J. Foyt IV, Mario Moraes, Will Power, Marty Roth, Tomas Scheckter, and Oriol Servia among others.

Practice for the race begins August 22 with the battle for the PEAK Motor Oil Pole Award slated for August 23.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Indy Racing League. 18-20 July 2008.  Honda Indy 200. Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Lexington, Ohio.Scott Dixon.
IndyCar 2018 aerokit render superspeedway
Jack Harvey feature
Jack Harvey
Jack Harvey feature image
Jack Harvey feature image
Jack Harvey feature image
Sebastien Bourdais
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.