IndyCar »

Franchitti to return at Surfers.

As expected, Dario Franchitti will return to the IndyCar Series for the final race of the 2008 campaign, on the streets of Surfers Paradise in Australia, next month.

The outgoing series champion will join the man who replaced him as number one, Scott Dixon, as Target Chip Ganassi Racing fields arguably the strongest pairing in the current IRL pack for the non-championship trip down under.

Ganassi confirmed Franchitti's participation in the race - which remains a one-off for Surfers until a dispute over dates for possible inclusion on the full IRL schedule can be resolved - on Saturday, with the Scot stepping back from an abortive switch to NASCAR tol fill fellow Briton Dan Wheldon's seat in the #10 Dallara-Honda Dallara.

“I'm really looking forward to getting into the Target IndyCar and to do so in Surfers Paradise, which is one of my favourite tracks, is a big bonus,” Franchitti said, “I'm excited to start working with the team, and Scott as my new team-mate. I think this will give us a good jumpstart on the 2009 season.”

Franchitti was the 1999 winner of the CART-sanctioned event at Surfers Paradise, raising the stakes in that year's title battle with erstwhile Ganassi NASCAR team-mate Juan Pablo Montoya. The duel took a dramatic turn down under as Franchitti stormed to victory from pole to unseat the rookie sensation at the head of the championship.

This year's Surfers Paradise race will give Franchitti a chance to reacclimatise himself with the IndyCar ahead of a full-time return to the series in 2009. The Scot won both the 2008 Indianapolis 500 and series title with Andretti Green racing before defecting to NASCAR.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dario Franchitti   [pic credit: IRL/McQueeney]
Dallara, IndyCar, [Credit: IndyCar]
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.