IndyCar »

Nine Lights races on IndyCar race day.

Nine races on the Firestone Indy Lights schedule in 2009 will be held on the same day as IndyCar Series races, series officials have announced, giving aspiring senior series contenders the chance to perform to the same crowds as their more experienced peers.

The 15-race schedule - divided among eight ovals, four temporary street circuits and three permanent road courses in 2009 - includes three new venues and the series' first two races outside of the United States.

Same-day races will be held in St Petersburg - where the second of the weekend's double-headers will take place on Sunday - Long Beach, Kansas, Milwaukee, Edmonton, Kentucky, Mid-Ohio, Infineon and Chicagoland, while the season-opening St Petersburg race and those at Iowa, Watkins Glen, Toronto and the season finale at Homestead-Miami will be held on the day prior to the main attraction. The Firestone Freedom 100 is scheduled to be held as part of Miller Lite Carb Day activities on Friday 22 May, two days before the 93rd Indianapolis 500.

"It is important to Firestone Indy Lights that our drivers and teams can showcase their talents, not only to IndyCar Series teams competing on the same track, but to the fans that come to each event," explained series executive director Roger Bailey.

The complete Firestone Indy Lights schedule is as follows:

April 4 St Petersburg
April 5 St Petersburg
April 19 Long Beach
April 26 Kansas Speedway
May 22 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
May 31 Milwaukee Mile
June 20 Iowa Speedway
July 4 Watkins Glen International
July 11 Toronto
July 26 Edmonton City Centre Airport
August 1 Kentucky Speedway
August 9 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
August 23 Infineon Raceway
August 29 Chicagoland Speedway
October 9 Homestead-Miami Speedway

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Indy Lights champion Raphael Matos and racewinner Arie Luyendyk Jr   [pic credit: IRL/Haines]
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park,
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
2016 Indy 500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Dallara, IndyCar, [Credit: IndyCar]
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.