IndyCar »

HVM confirms Viso.

HVM Racing has confirmed, as expected, that Ernesto Viso will return for a second season in the IndyCar Series in 2009.

The Venezuelan, who took seven top-ten finishes in his rookie year, will continue at the wheel of the #33 entry into 2009 as the team retains the same driver for the first time since 2004.

Having run alone in 2008, Viso is also set to benefit from having a team-mate with the outfit expected to name a second driver in due course.

"This is a natural progression and a sensible move for both team and driver," team owner Keith Wiggins said. "It will actually be the first time since 2004 that we have the continuity of retaining the same driver for a second season. That in itself shows a positive picture for our team and the single open-wheel series.

"We are delighted to continue with E.J going into our second IRL season and believe that together we can make big strides in 2009. The addition of a second entry will further strengthen our programme."

Viso himself said he was pleased to confirm his return and admitted that a second car would be a big plus as the team seeks to move forwards.

"We had a good season in 2008 given that it was our 'learning' year and having continuity is a good thing to pursue our progression towards the top," he said. "The team is working on upping our game and our plans to enter a second car are very close to being completed. This obviously will be a big plus."

HVM will also run two cars in the Indy Lights Series for 2009.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
EJ Viso [Pic credit: IndyCar nedia]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit Indy Conor Daly

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.