IndyCar »

Hunter-Reay doubles-up in the Iowa night-time

"I've never started last before!" the French sportscars star admitted. "When I saw everyone in front of me at the start, I couldn't believe I was back there.

"My thought process starting the race was 'just to move forward,'" he explained. "It was really difficult at the beginning, we were already a lap down before I got confident with the car. Something just clicked, and everything unlocked and we started moving forward. I'm really starting to enjoy the ovals. It's close racing and it's fun."

Another IZOD IndyCar Series rookie on the ovals, Rubens Barrichello, echoed that appreciation after finishing just behind Helio Castroneves: "I must say I am happy with this seventh place finish.

"I started the race on a completely different set up and for two stints my car was pretty loose," he went on. "We managed not to lose a lap and once the car got better after the changes we made in the first two pit stops then I was able to race. It's still such a different experience on this ovals but like I said I am pleased with the result."

Certainly as far as the race went, it was a day for unexpected stars to shine and for Andretti Autosport to burn brightest of all, Hinchcliffe's momentary mishap aside. But it was a day that several of the bigger names in the championship - Will Power, Ryan Briscoe and Dario Franchitti chief among them - will be keen to move on from, as the series looks ahead to its next engagement in two weeks time in Toronto.

Full race results available.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Winner Ryan Hunter-Reay leads Tony Kanaan in the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Newton, Iowa 23 June (c) 2012 Phillip Abbott LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Winner Ryan Hunter-Reay and teammate Marco Andretti take the checkered flag and win at the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Newton, Iowa 23 June (c) 2012 Phillip Abbott LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Will Power Indy 500 practice

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.