Paul Dana captured his first Menards Infiniti Pro Series victory to end points leader Thiago Medeiros' four-race win streak in a race that saw just nine starters and a meagre three finishers.

The Hemelgarn/Johnson Motorsports driver inherited the Milwaukee 100 victory when early race leader and Championship leader Thiago Medeiros retired with a wheel bearing failure 24 laps from home.

"Obviously, Thiago took off like a shot, and he was gone," Dana said. "It would have been nice to be up there with him early. We were actually running the race pace of Thiago, but he got a gap in the early run. We were running as quick as him, but we weren't going to catch him.

Related Articles

"But we led earlier this year, and we ran into some bad luck, so it comes around. We'll take them any way we can get them."

In a race of attrition, charismatic rookie driver PJ Chesson gave the new Mo Nunn Racing MIPS team their best result with a second place effort while Chesson's fellow MIPS rookie Al Unser was the only other finisher.

The race ended under caution after Jesse Mason collided with the lapped machine of Brad Pollard, reducing the number of runners from five to three, while Arie Luyendyk Jr and Billy Roe also crashed heavily on the opening lap of the race.

Medeiros, who led the opening 75 laps to bring his final consecutive laps led tally to a monster 249, was classified sixth for his worst score since Chicagoland in September of 2003.