IndyCar »

Sao Paulo - Race results

Will Power won an incident-packed race that saw several downpours, an overnight red-flag, multiple spins and a fearless turn 1 challenge from Takuma Sato.
The track might have been beautifully resurfaced, but there was nothing the Sao Paulo organisers could do about the torrential rain that wreaked havoc on the two attempted starts on Sunday afternoon, before conditions deteriorated to such a degree than an overnight red flag stoppage was forced.

Racing resumed for a time-limited second instalment on Monday morning, which was almost immediately hit by another heavy shower. Fortunately it was brief and not as severe as the previous day's monsoon and racing was able to continue, but many drivers struggled to avoid spinning out of the race at one point or another as the laps counted down.

Will Power was in the lead for the first 25 laps, but at the restart on lap 26 he fell victim to an impressive, fearless lunge by Takuma Sato and found himself demoted to second place for the first time. Sato continued to lead for 24 laps, but eventually his gamble on further cautions or an early red flag finish to the race didn't materialise and he was forced to pit for fuel, yielding the lead back to Power who went on to claim the chequered flag.

Full race report also available.

Race results

1. #12 Will Power 55 laps Leader
2. #38 Graham Rahal 55 laps + 4.6723s
3. #6 Ryan Briscoe 55 laps + 7.9037s
4. #10 Dario Franchitti 55 laps + 10.1470s
5. #2 Oriol Servia 55 laps + 15.8188s
6. #27 Mike Conway 55 laps + 16.6775s
7. #22 Justin Wilson 55 laps + 20.0131s
8. #5 Takuma Sato 55 laps + 23.0683s
9. #06 James Hinchcliffe 55 laps + 25.2924s
10. #4 JR Hildebrand 55 laps + 31.3172s
11. #34 Sebastian Saavedra 55 laps + 36.4261s
12. #9 Scott Dixon 55 laps + 42.1974s
13. #59 EJ Viso 55 laps + 45.8266s
14. #26 Marco Andretti 55 laps + 74.5634s
15. #18 James Jakes 55 laps + 76.2783s
16. #83 Charlie Kimball 54 laps + 1 laps
17. #14 Vitor Meira 53 laps + 2 laps
18. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 50 laps + 5 laps
19. #77 Alex Tagliani 48 laps + 7 laps
20. #78 Simona de Silvestro 46 laps + 9 laps
21. #3 Helio Castroneves 46 laps + 9 laps
22. #82 Tony Kanaan 46 laps + 9 laps
23. #7 Danica Patrick 46 laps + 9 laps
24. #24 Ana Beatriz 31 laps + 24 laps Mechanical
25. #17 Raphael Matos 28 laps + 27 laps Contact
26. #19 Sebastien Bourdais 20 laps + 35 laps Contact

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power leads Ryan Briscoe and Takuma Sato shortly after the first pit stops on Monday morning for wet tyres. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Will Power Texas
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Will Power - Team Penske
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.