IndyCar »

Indianapolis 500 - Pole Day qualifying times

Alex Tagliani shocked the "big boys" at Penske and Ganassi and dominated qualifying, claiming pole position for Sam Schmidt Motorsports ahead of Scott Dixon and Oriol Servia.
Alex Tagliani has looked fast all week, but still everyone expected Penske and Ganassi to sweep in when it came to Pole Day. They didn't - and it turned out no one was a match for Tagliani and his inspirational team owner Sam Schmidt.

Scott Dixon qualified in second position but ran out of fuel in the final yards of the last of his four qualifying laps - which was at least better than his Ganassi team mate Dario Franchitti, who ran dry mid-qualifying attempt and who was last seen stalking back down the paddock to his trailer, pointedly not speaking to anyone.

Shockingly, only Will Power in fifth place on the grid was in the pole shoot-out for Penske. Helio Castroneves was in 16th place and therefore qualifies for the race (unless bumped on Sunday) but Ryan Briscoe suffered after losing his race car in a Saturday morning practice crash and failed to make it into the top 24.

Despite the burns to her hands sustained in a serious crash in the Thursday practice session, Simona de Silvestro made it onto the provisional grid. However, she will start Bump Day in 24th and will be expecting to have to make more qualification attempts to ensure her position in the race.

Pole Day qualifying times

Pole position shoot out - top nine

1. #77 Alex Tagliani 227.472mph
2. #9 Scott Dixon 227.340mph
3. #2 Oriol Servia 227.168mph
4. #99 Townsend Bell 226.887mph
5. #12 Will Power 226.773mph
6. #98 Dan Wheldon 226.490mph
7. #44 Buddy Rice 225.786mph
8. #67 Ed Carpenter 225.121mph
9. #10 Dario Franchitti 226.379mph *

(* = time taken from earlier session. No time set in pole position shoot out, qualification attempt incomplete)

Pole Day positions 10-24

(Positions set, but can still be 'bumped' off the grid altogether on Sunday by faster cars)

10. #5 Takuma Sato 225.736mph
11. #14 Vitor Meira 225.590mph
12. #4 JR Hildebrand 225.579mph
13. #06 James Hinchcliffe 225.572mph
14. #30 Bertrand Baguette 225.285mph
15. #11 Davey Hamilton 225.250mph
16. #3 Helio Castroneves 225.216mph
17. #43 John Andretti 224.981mph
18. #59 EJ Viso 224.732mph
19. #41 Bruno Junqueira 224.691mph
20. #22 Justin Wilson 224.511mph
21. #88 Jay Howard 224.483mph
22. #07 Tomas Scheckter 224.433mph
23. #82 Tony Kanaan 224.417mph
24. #78T Simona de Silvestro 224.392mph

Not yet qualified

(Will have to atempt to qualify on Bump Day)

Paul Tracy - Dreyer & Reinbold
Charlie Kimball - Ganassi
Ana Beatriz - Dreyer & Reinbold
Ryan Briscoe - Penske
Marco Andretti - Andretti
Danica Patrick - Andretti
Graham Rahal - Ganassi
Alex Lloyd - Dale Coyne
Pippa Mann - Conquest
Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti
Raphael Matos - AFS
Mike Conway - Andretti
James Jakes - Dale Coyne
Sebastian Saavedra - Conquest
Ho-Pin Tung - Schmidt/Dragon

Bumped speeds

(Speeds originally in the top 24 but displaced by other improved runners)

#23 Paul Tracy 224.353mph
#83 Charlie Kimball 224.262mph
#24 Ana Beatriz 224.258mph
#78T Simona de Silvestro 224.237mph
#41 Bruno Junqueira 224.236mph
#07 Tomas Scheckter 224.117mph
#7 Danica Patrick 223.837mph
#38 Graham Rahal 223.822mph
#6T Ryan Briscoe 223.435mph
#43 John Andretti 223.393mph
#26 Marco Andretti 223.389mph
#36 Pippa Mann 223.070mph
#28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 222.951mph
#17 Raphael Matos 222.786mph
#27 Mike Conway 222.247mph
#18 James Jakes 221.846mph
#34 Sebastian Saavedra 221.526mph

Failed attempts

(Speeds that did not make it into the top 24)

#6T Ryan Briscoe 224.134mph
#26 Marco Andretti 224.074mph
#7 Danica Patrick 223.831mph
#26 Marco Andretti 223.691mph
#78T Simona de Silvestro 223.681mph
#6T Ryan Briscoe 223.644mph

Waved off/No Attempt

(Runs aborted before completion)

#19 Alex Lloyd 223.759mph
#19 Alex Lloyd 223.564mph
#43 John Andretti 223.014mph
#18 James Jakes 220.638mph
#36 Pippa Mann 220.000mph
#38 Graham Rahal No time
#83 Charlie Kimball No time
#77 Alex Tagliani 226.954mph
#9 Scott Dixon 226.701mph
#98 Dan Wheldon 226.300mph
#99 Townsend Bell 226.277mph
#67 Ed Carpenter 226.171mph
#12 Will Power 226.089mph
#2 Oriol Servia 225.775mph
#44 Buddy Rice 225.746mph
#10 Dario Franchitti 227.043mph
#8 Ho-Pin Tung 224.340mph (crashed)

Field Average: 225.595 mph

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Scott Dixon watching the action on Pole Day for the 2011 Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday, May 21. [Picture credit:  for IndyCar Media]
Dario Franchitti ready for work on Pole Day for the 2011 Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday, May 21. [Picture credit: Mike Harding for IndyCar Media]
Oriol Servia, who claimed third place on the grid for the 2011 Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway during Pole Day on Saturday, May 21. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Alex Tagliani celebrates with Sam Schmidt after taking pole position for the centennial Indy 500, during Pole Day at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday, May 21. [Picture credit: IndyCar Media]
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Jay Howard Indy 500 practice
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Mikhail Aleshin - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Chris Owens]
Mikhail Aleshin - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Mikhail Aleshin - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [credit: Chris Owens]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Alex Rossi, Indy 500 [Credit: IndyCar]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [Credit: IndyCar]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [Credit: Jim Haines/IndyCar]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.