IndyCar »

Milwaukee - Friday practice times

Penske's Will Power topped the timesheets in the first on-track action at the Milwaukee Mile for two years, putting in a time just 0.0242s ahead of Ganassi's Dario Franchitti.
Will Power recorded the top time of the Friday practice session as IndyCar returned to the Milwaukee Mile, with a lap of 21.7957s set with an average lap speed of 167.648mph.

"The car feels really good," said Power. "This is the oval that I've been to the most, and it's a very fun place to drive. It can be a hard place to pass in the race, but if you have a good car it's a great place."

Dario Franchitti, Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon filled out the top four on the timesheets after the 75 minute afternoon track session. An additional 45 minutes of track time was available prior to the all-car practice session to rookies and drivers outside the top ten of the championship points.

Alex Tagliani and Vitor Meira were both involved in accidents in turn 4. Tagliani's was minor but Meira's caused him to have to switch to the back-up car.

Something broke on the left rear, so we'll have to look at the data and see what happened," said Tagliani. "The car has virtually no damage except for a little scratch. We didn't touch anything. We should be alright."

"I was trying hard and it stepped out on me," Meira said of his own crash. "I'm sure the ABC Supply/AJ Foyt Racing crew will put the car together better than it was and we'll go race."

IndyCar is back at the Milwaukee Mile after a year's hiatus. In the last race at the one-mile oval, Scott Dixon beat pole sitter Ryan Briscoe to the chequered flag with Franchitti and Graham Rahal finishing close behind.

"We changed the car significantly from the test here at Milwaukee and it has been better for us," said Franchitti. "I think the track has lost some grip since the two previous years I have been here, especially on the black asphalt."

Previous winners at Milwaukee include Briscoe (2008), Tony Kanaan (2006 and 2007), Sam Hornish Jr. (2005) and Franchitti himself in 2004.

Danica Patrick has already expressed her delight at the reinstatement of Milwaukee in a series she believes is becoming too road course-heavy, but the irony is that with its flat corners the Milwaukee Mile actually handles more like a road course than an oval in many respects. With drivers unable to go full speed into the flat corners, there are overtaking opportunities all around the course.

There are two additional hours of practice on Saturday at 9.45am and 12.55pm local time, followed by the qualifying session at 4.45pm local time. The race itself commences at 3pm on Sunday afternoon.

Practice 1 times - Friday

1. #12 Will Power 167.648mph 21.7957s after 69 laps
2. #10 Dario Franchitti 167.462mph 21.8199s + 0.0242s after 46 laps
3. #3 Helio Castroneves 167.368mph 21.8321s + 0.0364s after 93 laps
4. #9 Scott Dixon 167.232mph 21.8499s + 0.0542s after 53 laps
5. #2 Oriol Servia 167.022mph 21.8774s + 0.0817s after 50 laps
6. #26 Marco Andretti 166.424mph 21.9560s + 0.1603s after 71 laps
7. #38 Graham Rahal 166.022mph 22.0091s + 0.2134s after 25 laps
8. #22 Justin Wilson 165.372mph 22.0957s + 0.3000s after 91 laps
9. #59 EJ Viso 165.197mph 22.1191s + 0.3234s after 32 laps
10. #24 Ana Beatriz 164.861mph 22.1641s + 0.3684s after 75 laps
11. #27 Mike Conway 164.787mph 22.1741s + 0.3784s after 67 laps
12. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 164.750mph 22.1791s + 0.3834s after 55 laps
13. #7 Danica Patrick 164.655mph 22.1918s + 0.3961s after 73 laps
14. #82 Tony Kanaan 164.638mph 22.1942s + 0.3985s after 42 laps
15. #19 Alex Lloyd 164.217mph 22.2511s + 0.4554s after 86 laps
16. #5 Takuma Sato 163.897mph 22.2945s + 0.4988s after 55 laps
17. #83 Charlie Kimball 163.763mph 22.3128s + 0.5171s after 111 laps
18. #6 Ryan Briscoe 163.614mph 22.3330s + 0.5373s after 42 laps
19. #06 James Hinchcliffe 163.011mph 22.4156s + 0.6199s after 83 laps
20. #4 JR Hildebrand 162.945mph 22.4248s + 0.6291s after 30 laps
21. #78 Simona de Silvestro 162.581mph 22.4750s + 0.6793s after 70 laps
22. #14 Vitor Meira 162.312mph 22.5122s + 0.7165s after 72 laps
23. #77 Alex Tagliani 159.230mph 22.9480s + 1.1523s after 30 laps
24. #67 Ed Carpenter 158.526mph 23.0498s + 1.2541s after 96 laps
25. #34 Sebastian Saavedra 157.669mph 23.1752s + 1.3795s after 90 laps
26. #18 James Jakes 157.040mph 23.2680s + 1.4723s after 78 laps

Total Laps: 1685

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Mike Conway puts a move on team mate Marco Andretti during practice at the Milwaukee Mile - June 2011. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
The historic Milwaukee Mile. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Charlie Kimball crossing the start/finish line during practice at the Milwaukee Mile - June 2011. [Picture credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media]
Ganassi team mates Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti watch Danica Patrick practice from the pit wall at the Milwaukee Mile - June 2011. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Will Power leaves pit lane during practice at the Milwaukee Mile - June 2011. [Picture credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.