IndyCar »

Mid-Ohio - Race results

Scott Dixon cruised to victory at Mid-Ohio, while Dario Franchitti had to work hard to stay ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay after Will Power and Ryan Briscoe suffered in the final pit stops.
Scott Dixon was "in a different zip code" as even his team mate Dario Franchitti agreed, leaving the rest of the field in his dust as he claimed his first win in the 2011 season.

Franchitti held off Ryan Hunter-Reay for second place ahead of KV Racing Technology duo Takuma Sato and Tony Kanaan.

Bad luck claimed James Hinchcliffe, Graham Rahal and Charlie Kimball, while a decision to try and stay out an extra lap severely compromised Penske duo Will Power and Ryan Briscoe and left them mired well down the field unable to pass Ana Beatriz until near the end.

Race results

1. #9 Scott Dixon 85 laps 1:48:46.9509s
2. #10 Dario Franchitti 85 laps + 7.6508s
3. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 85 laps + 9.0784s
4. #5 Takuma Sato 85 laps + 12.3062s
5. #82 Tony Kanaan 85 laps + 19.9748s
6. #77 Alex Tagliani 85 laps + 20.6267s
7. #26 Marco Andretti 85 laps + 20.9094s
8. #2 Oriol Servia 85 laps + 23.0252s
9. #19 Sebastien Bourdais 85 laps + 23.6411s
10. #14 Vitor Meira 85 laps + 26.2582s
11. #83 Charlie Kimball 85 laps + 27.4550s
12. #78 Simona de Silvestro 85 laps + 29.0438s
13. #22 Simon Pagenaud 85 laps + 29.7880s
14. #12 Will Power 85 laps + 42.5675s
15. #59 EJ Viso 85 laps + 45.3255s
16. #6 Ryan Briscoe 85 laps + 45.7141s
17. #24 Ana Beatriz 85 laps + 47.0943s
18. #17 Martin Plowman 85 laps + 48.3700s
19. #3 Helio Castroneves 85 laps + 48.8679s
20. #06 James Hinchcliffe 85 laps + 49.4093s
21. #7 Danica Patrick 85 laps + 59.9851s
22. #67 Ed Carpenter 85 laps + 69.2913s
23. #18 James Jakes 85 laps + 69.5303s
24. #38 Graham Rahal 83 laps + 2 laps
25. #4 JR Hildebrand 81 laps + 4 laps
26. #27 Mike Conway 63 laps + 22 laps Mechanical
27. #34 Sebastian Saavedra 2+ 65 laps Contact

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Scott Dixon takes the chequered flag at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. August 2011. [Picture credit: LAT Photo USA for IndyCar Madia]
Scott Dixon in victory lane after winning the Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. August 2011. [Photo credit: LAT Photo USA for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon leads Ryan Briscoe on lap 1 of the Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. August 2011. [Photo credit: Dan Helrigel for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.