IndyCar »

Infineon Raceway - Race results

The top five drivers arrived home in the same order that they started the race, and not much happened in the intervening 75 laps on the road course at Infineon Raceway.
When Will Power dreams, he must dream of days just like this: when he can run 75 virtually perfect laps out in front, avoid any dramas, and have the support of his team mates Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe gathered collectively around him to ward off any bad energy from that nasty Ganassi duo of Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon.

It was without question a major return to form for the Penske team, by far their strongest performance of the season and their first team 1-2-3 since Nazareth in 1994 - and at just the right time for Power's title hopes, as it slashes 21pts from Dario Franchitti's lead and closes them up to just 26pts variance with just four races remaining in the season.

Race results

1. #12 Will Power 75 laps 1:47:29.7619
2. #3 Helio Castroneves + 3.2420s
3. #6 Ryan Briscoe + 6.4494s
4. #10 Dario Franchitti + 7.6540s
5. #9 Scott Dixon + 14.4755s
6. #19 Sebastien Bourdais + 17.1257s
7. #06 James Hinchcliffe + 17.2713s
8. #38 Graham Rahal + 17.7900s
9. #59 EJ Viso + 21.6276s
10. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay + 22.1731s
11. #2 Oriol Servia + 22.9512s
12. #17 Martin Plowman + 24.2602s
13. #24 Ana Beatriz + 29.7207s
14. #34 Sebastian Saavedra + 41.1146s
15. #78 Simon Pagenaud + 41.7526s
16. #27 Mike Conway + 74.2912s
17. #22 Giorgio Pantano + 74.2922s *
18. #5 Takuma Sato + 1 lap
19. #18 James Jakes + 1 lap
20. #77 Alex Tagliani + 1 lap
21. #7 Danica Patrick + 1 lap
22. #14 Vitor Meira + 1 lap
23. #4 JR Hildebrand + 1 lap
24. #26 Marco Andretti + 1 lap
25. #67 Ed Carpenter + 1 lap
26. #83 Charlie Kimball + 9 laps
27. #88 Ho-Pin Tung + 12 laps Contact after 63 laps
28. #82 Tony Kanaan + 37 laps Mechanical after 38 laps

* penalised for blocking Sebastian Bourdais through the final corner and sent to the back of the lead lap

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power leads the field on track at Infineon Raceway. [Photo credit: Richard Dowdy for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Sebastian Saavedra headshot
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.