IndyCar »

Baltimore - Race results

Will Power put in one of his best drives of the year to stay ahead of Oriol Servia and Tony Kanaan to the chequered flag in the inaugural Baltimore Grand Prix.
Will Power might have started from pole position for the first-ever Baltimore Grand Prix on the 2-mile, 12-turn temporary street course, but he didn't have it easy as he was pushed to one of his best performances of the season on his way to his sixth race win of 2011.

Graham Rahal pressed Power hard in the first half of the race but lost out in the pit stops; instead, Oriol Servia and Tony Kanaan pulled off perfect pit calls and ran a long final-stint fuel conservation strategy to leap into second and third position ahead of Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon.

The expected crash-fest fortunately failed to materialise, although a mid-race restart ended up in a track-blocking jam that caught up 12 cars and caused a lengthy caution.

Power's victory - which ties the record for the most number of victories in a single IndyCar season, with three more races left to compete - puts Will just 5pts off Dario in the IndyCar championship battle, a battle that many thought was over just four races ago after Franchitti seemed to have opened up an near-unassailable lead over Power in the mid-season.

Now, as IndyCar departs for the road course race at Motegi in two weeks time, it is very much all to play for.

Race results

1. #12 Will Power 75 laps 2:02:19.4998s
2. #2 Oriol Servia 75 laps + 10.2096s
3. #82 Tony Kanaan 75 laps + 10.8557s
4. #10 Dario Franchitti 75 laps + 11.0831s
5. #9 Scott Dixon 75 laps + 11.5032s
6. #7 Danica Patrick 75 laps + 18.5661s
7. #77 Alex Tagliani 75 laps + 18.5671s *
8. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 75 laps + 18.9269s
9. #14 Vitor Meira 75 laps + 22.3096s
10. #38 Graham Rahal 75 laps + 22.6977s
11. #17 Martin Plowman 75 laps + 23.7405s
12. #78 Simona de Silvestro 75 laps + 24.7568s
13. #34 Sebastian Saavedra 75 laps + 29.6042s
14. #6 Ryan Briscoe 75 laps + 30.9855s
15. #59 EJ Viso 75 laps + 50.6756s
16. #24 Ana Beatriz 75 laps + 60.5667s
17. #3 Helio Castroneves 74 laps + 1 laps
18. #5 Takuma Sato 73 laps + 2 laps
19. #4 JR Hildebrand 73 laps + 2 laps Contact
20. #67 Ed Carpenter 73 laps + 2 laps
21. #83 Charlie Kimball 73 laps + 2 laps
22. #07 Tomas Scheckter 71 laps + 4 laps
23. #27 Mike Conway 64 laps + 11 laps Mechanical
24. #06 James Hinchcliffe 54 laps + 21 laps Handling
25. #26 Marco Andretti 40 laps + 35 laps Mechanical
26. #22 Giorgio Pantano 39 laps + 36 laps Contact
27. #18 James Jakes 37 laps + 38 laps Contact
28. #19 Sebastien Bourdais 9 laps + 66 laps Electrical

* Tagliani penalised for overshooting chicane on lap 75 and placed behind car #7 in final positions.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power in victory lane at Baltimore. [Photo credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Will Power Indy 500 practice

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

T - Unregistered

September 05, 2011 9:48 AM

A champions drive from Will Power, very impressive. Have to feel sorry for Graham Rahal,Dario & Simona who would have finished second/third/fourth if it had not been for that extremely long yellow period that put wrecked their standard fuel strategy(long yellow to put cars in the proper order !....) and where the pace setters all day. The gods where definately smiling down on Tony Kannan,twice put to the rear of the field and still finishs third.Role on motegi

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.