Scott Dixon's 1:39.8282s was the best time anyone could muster in an interrupted Sunday warm-up practice in Motegi, the drivers' final opportunity for track time before the afternoon's Indy Japan race at 1pm local time (5am BST).

Dixon topped the timing screens early in the 30-minute session, with James Jakes and Sebastien Bourdais having fast early runs before Helio Castroneves and Dario Franchitti eventually eased into second and third place in the timesheets.

Jakes then caused the first full course caution just after midway through the session, when he lost drive and came to a halt in turn 12. The caution lasted around seven minutes before the track went green again with six minutes remaining, but Vitor Meira promptly brought out a second caution after getting stuck in neutral through turn nine and stopping on track.

Related Articles

Race control extended the session slightly because of the two interruptions to allow teams to run a final fast lap, but few drivers improved their times. There was also a minor collision when Castroneves overdid his run into turn 1 and made contact with the rear of Ryan Hunter-Reay, with the #3 losing part of its front wing as a result.

The earliest laps had been given over to practice pit stops, and teams then concentrated on optimising their settings to find the best compromise between hard and soft tyres for the race. Most teams are expected to start on soft tyres and use the harder compound for the middle stint to allow themselves to finish the 63-lap race on the faster compound again.

Sunday warm-up

1. #9 Scott Dixon 107.573mph 1m 39.8282s after 14 laps
2. #3 Helio Castroneves 107.556mph 1m 39.8435s + 0.0153s after 14 laps
3. #10 Dario Franchitti 107.509mph 1m 39.8875s + 0.0593s after 13 laps
4. #18 James Jakes 107.322mph 1m 40.0611s + 0.2329s after 11 laps
5. #19 Sebastien Bourdais 107.301mph 1m 40.0814s + 0.2532s after 15 laps
6. #6 Ryan Briscoe 107.243mph 1m 40.1355s + 0.3073s after 14 laps
7. #83 Charlie Kimball 107.187mph 1m 40.1877s + 0.3595s after 13 laps
8. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 107.160mph 1m 40.2126s + 0.3844s after 11 laps
9. #38 Graham Rahal 107.110mph 1m 40.2595s + 0.4313s after 14 laps
10. #12 Will Power 107.088mph 1m 40.2798s + 0.4516s after 14 laps
11. #34 Joao Paulo de Oliveira 107.074mph 1m 40.2929s + 0.4647s after 7 laps
12. #22 Giorgio Pantano 107.055mph 1m 40.3112s + 0.4830s after 12 laps
13. #26 Marco Andretti 106.920mph 1m 40.4381s + 0.6099s after 11 laps
14. #17 Hideki Mutoh 106.899mph 1m 40.4575s + 0.6293s after 12 laps
15. #77 Alex Tagliani 106.845mph 1m 40.5081s + 0.6799s after 13 laps
16. #27 Mike Conway 106.834mph 1m 40.5189s + 0.6907s after 11 laps
17. #06 James Hinchcliffe 106.729mph 1m 40.6176s + 0.7894s after 15 laps
18. #59 EJ Viso 106.708mph 1m 40.6369s + 0.8087s after 13 laps
19. #2 Oriol Servia 106.698mph 1m 40.6463s + 0.8181s after 13 laps
20. #5 Takuma Sato 106.592mph 1m 40.7471s + 0.9189s after 9 laps
21. #82 Tony Kanaan 106.432mph 1m 40.8980s + 1.0698s after 12 laps
22. #24 Ana Beatriz 106.324mph 1m 41.0005s + 1.1723s after 15 laps
23. #4 JR Hildebrand 106.100mph 1m 41.2140s + 1.3858s after 13 laps
24. #7 Danica Patrick 106.095mph 1m 41.2183s + 1.3901s after 11 laps
25. #78 Simona de Silvestro 105.846mph 1m 41.4567s + 1.6285s after 12 laps
26. #14 Vitor Meira 105.624mph 1m 41.6703s + 1.8421s after 5 laps

Total Laps: 317