IndyCar »

Motegi - Race results

Scott Dixon easily won the final Indy Japan race at Motegi on Sunday, with Will Power equally comfortable in second place ahead of Marco Andretti and Alex Tagliani.
Scott Dixon had a brief battle to maintain the lead of the last Indy Japan at the start of the race, but once that was done he was barely troubled for the rest of the afternoon on his way to victory lane ahead of Will Power.

But it might still be Power with the biggest smile on his face, as he emerged from Motegi rewarded with a significant lead in the championship points over Dario Franchitti, who sparked a multi-car accident during a restart that saw him dropped to the back of the lead lap.

Although he tried to recover for the rest of the afternoon, Dario could still finish no higher than eighth place and now trails Will by 11pts going into the final two oval races of the season.

Race results

1. #9 Scott Dixon 63 laps 01:56:41.0107s
2. #12 Will Power 63 laps + 3.4375s
3. #26 Marco Andretti 63 laps + 4.4782s
4. #77 Alex Tagliani 63 laps + 5.5913s
5. #2 Oriol Servia 63 laps + 6.1621s
6. #19 Sebastien Bourdais 63 laps + 6.6399s
7. #4 JR Hildebrand 63 laps + 8.7436s
8. #10 Dario Franchitti 63 laps + 9.0690s
9. #27 Mike Conway 63 laps + 9.3816s
10. #5 Takuma Sato 63 laps + 10.1187s
11. #7 Danica Patrick 63 laps + 10.6995s
12. #38 Graham Rahal 63 laps + 11.4555s
13. #18 James Jakes 63 laps + 11.6119s
14. #78 Simona de Silvestro 63 laps + 12.0651s
15. #06 James Hinchcliffe 63 laps + 12.5498s
16. #22 Giorgio Pantano 63 laps + 14.4549s
17. #82 Tony Kanaan 63 laps + 15.8407s
18. #17 Hideki Mutoh 63 laps + 16.3024s
19. #24 Ana Beatriz 63 laps + 20.5159s
20. #6 Ryan Briscoe 63 laps + 38.5887s
21. #59 EJ Viso 63 laps + 99.0777s
22. #3 Helio Castroneves 63 laps + 99.0787s *
23. #83 Charlie Kimball 62 laps + 1 laps +
24. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 62 laps + 1 laps
25. #14 Vitor Meira 61 laps + 2 laps
26. #34 Joao Paulo de Oliveira 19 laps Mechanical

* Penalised for overtaking under yellow flag on final lap and sent to back of lead lap in lieu of drive-thru penalty

+ Penalised for causing an avoidable contact

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Scott Dixon leads Will Power in the final running of the Indy Japan at Motegi. [Photo credit: LAT Photo USA for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Alex - Unregistered

September 18, 2011 12:45 PM

Well, it's good that Power took the lead because last 2 races are on oval tracks, hence Franchitti will have an advantage at Kentucky and Vegas. I hope Dario will become the first four-times IRL champion.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.