IndyCar »

Kentucky - Practice times (2)

Scott Dixon completed the second of the two practice sessions on top of the timesheets at Kentucky Speedway again, this time ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay and Ed Carpenter.
Scott Dixon again topped the practice timesheets at the Kentucky Speedway, setting a time of 24.2587s that was just 0.013s ahead of Andretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Dixon had been vying for the top time for much of the session with last year's pole sitter Ed Carpenter, who ended up in third place ahead of Dario Franchitti, Marco Andretti and James Hinchcliffe. Franchitti's main title rival Will Power ended the session in seventh place.

The one-hour session was straightforward but saw three caution periods. The first came at the halfway point, and running had resumed for less than five minutes before debris brought out the yellows again. There was another debris caution eight minutes before the end, leaving cars with just over three minutes of running before the final chequered flag.

This was the final practice session before qualifying at 6pm local time (11pm BST).

Practice 2 times

1. #9 Scott Dixon 219.633mph 24.2587s after 61 laps
2. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 219.509mph 24.2723s + 0.0136s after 36 laps
3. #67 Ed Carpenter 219.322mph 24.2930s + 0.0343s after 61 laps
4. #10 Dario Franchitti 219.238mph 24.3024s + 0.0437s after 33 laps
5. #26 Marco Andretti 219.188mph 24.3079s + 0.0492s after 57 laps
6. #06 James Hinchcliffe 219.016mph 24.3270s + 0.0683s after 50 laps
7. #12 Will Power 218.987mph 24.3302s + 0.0715s after 48 laps
8. #38 Graham Rahal 218.743mph 24.3573s + 0.0986s after 57 laps
9. #5 Takuma Sato 218.554mph 24.3784s + 0.1197s after 48 laps
10. #7 Danica Patrick 218.348mph 24.4014s + 0.1427s after 43 laps
11. #3 Helio Castroneves 218.267mph 24.4105s + 0.1518s after 57 laps
12. #2 Oriol Servia 218.235mph 24.4141s + 0.1554s after 57 laps
13. #6 Ryan Briscoe 218.168mph 24.4216s + 0.1629s after 64 laps
14. #83 Charlie Kimball 218.103mph 24.4288s + 0.1701s after 56 laps
15. #4 JR Hildebrand 218.009mph 24.4394s + 0.1807s after 54 laps
16. #14 Vitor Meira 217.768mph 24.4664s + 0.2077s after 35 laps
17. #24 Ana Beatriz 217.739mph 24.4697s + 0.2110s after 69 laps
18. #27 Mike Conway 217.642mph 24.4806s + 0.2219s after 62 laps
19. #59 EJ Viso 217.425mph 24.5050s + 0.2463s after 51 laps
20. #22 Townsend Bell 217.382mph 24.5098s + 0.2511s after 48 laps
21. #17 Wade Cunningham 217.374mph 24.5108s + 0.2521s after 29 laps
22. #44 Buddy Rice 217.361mph 24.5122s + 0.2535s after 34 laps
23. #78 Simona de Silvestro 217.148mph 24.5363s + 0.2776s after 52 laps
24. #82 Tony Kanaan 217.101mph 24.5416s + 0.2829s after 49 laps
25. #77 Dan Wheldon 216.982mph 24.5550s + 0.2963s after 37 laps
26. #19 Alex Lloyd 216.712mph 24.5856s + 0.3269s after 53 laps
27. #30 Pippa Mann 216.286mph 24.6340s + 0.3753s after 46 laps
28. #34 Dillon Battistini 216.229mph 24.6405s + 0.3818s after 55 laps
29. #18 James Jakes 215.071mph 24.7732s + 0.5145s after 52 laps

Total Laps: 1454

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Dario Franchitti on track at Kentucky Speedway. [Picture Credit: Bret Kelley for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.