Will Power laid down two laps of the 1.5-mile Kentucky Speedway oval in 48.5848s (219.283mph) to finish two-tenths clear of Graham Rahal, who will line up alongside him on the front row of the grid for the Kentucky Indy 300 on Sunday afternoon.

Power's pole position gives him another bonus point in the championship battle with Dario Franchitti as well as a big advantage in the starting positions, after the Scot was left frustrated when he was unable to qualify better than 11th position. His team mate Scott Dixon was also unable to duplicate the peerless form he had shown in earlier practice session and will start from seventh.

Pippa Mann spun into the inside wall at the start of her qualifying run, and Dan Wheldon's #77 Bowers and Wilkins car failed tech inspection which meant he was unable to take to the track. They will start from the back row of the grid.

Qualifying times

1. #12 Will Power 219.283mph 48.5948s
2. #38 Graham Rahal 218.348mph 48.8028s
3. #06 James Hinchcliffe 218.186mph 48.8391s
4. #67 Ed Carpenter 218.004mph 48.8799s
5. #4 JR Hildebrand 217.872mph 48.9095s
6. #26 Marco Andretti 217.807mph 48.9241s
7. #9 Scott Dixon 217.692mph 48.9500s
8. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 217.632mph 48.9634s
9. #2 Oriol Servia 217.520mph 48.9886s
10. #83 Charlie Kimball 217.357mph 49.0254s
11. #10 Dario Franchitti 217.213mph 49.0579s
12. #27 Mike Conway 217.110mph 49.0810s
13. #78 Simona de Silvestro 216.924mph 49.1233s
14. #7 Danica Patrick 216.768mph 49.1585s
15. #17 Wade Cunningham 216.763mph 49.1596s
16. #3 Helio Castroneves 216.732mph 49.1668s
17. #44 Buddy Rice 216.685mph 49.1774s
18. #6 Ryan Briscoe 216.669mph 49.1811s
19. #82 Tony Kanaan 216.484mph 49.2230s
20. #24 Ana Beatriz 216.424mph 49.2367s
21. #14 Vitor Meira 216.300mph 49.2649s
22. #5 Takuma Sato 215.856mph 49.3662s
23. #59 EJ Viso 215.789mph 49.3815s
24. #19 Alex Lloyd 215.607mph 49.4232s
25. #34 Dillon Battistini 215.578mph 49.4298s
26. #22 Townsend Bell 215.404mph 49.4699s
27. #18 James Jakes 214.297mph 49.7254s
28. #77 Dan Wheldon No Time DNQ
29. #30 Pippa Mann No Time DNQ