IndyCar »

Las Vegas - Qualifying times

Tony Kanaan took pole position for Sunday's IZOD IndyCar World Championship 2011 season finale, while championship rivals Will Power and Dario Franchitti start side-by-side mid-pack.
KV Racing Technology's Tony Kanaan shot to pole position for Sunday's season finale, a time of 50.0582s just 0.0037s ahead of Oriol Servia who will start alongside him on the front row.

Championship rivals Will Power and Dario Franchitti will start from 17th and 18th respectively, neither of them really getting to grips with the 1.5-mile Las Vegas Motor Speedway so far. That puts them side-by-side on row nine of the grid.

James Jakes was unable to set a qualifying lap, following his fiery crash during the early practice session on Friday afternoon. EJ Viso was also benched from qualifying after an engine change following his blowup in Thursday practice.

Dan Wheldon set the 28th fastest time of the afternoon, but will still start from the back as part of the conditions for his take-up of the $5m prize challenge. He will start alongside Buddy Rice, whose times were deleted after the session after he dipped below the white line during his run.

Qualifying times

1. #82 Tony Kanaan 222.078mph 50.0582s
2. #2 Oriol Servia 222.061mph 50.0619s
3. #67 Ed Carpenter 221.509mph 50.1867s
4. #98 Alex Tagliani 221.330mph 50.2273s
5. #6 Ryan Briscoe 221.130mph 50.2728s
6. #26 Marco Andretti 221.129mph 50.2730s
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 221.040mph 50.2931s
8. #38 Graham Rahal 220.958mph 50.3118s
9. #7 Danica Patrick 220.925mph 50.3194s
10. #27 Mike Conway 220.922mph 50.3201s
11. #3 Helio Castroneves 220.907mph 50.3235s
12. #17 Wade Cunningham 220.790mph 50.3501s
13. #9 Scott Dixon 220.715mph 50.3673s
14. #06 James Hinchcliffe 220.701mph 50.3703s
15. #4 JR Hildebrand 220.639mph 50.3846s
16. #5 Takuma Sato 220.627mph 50.3874s
17. #12 Will Power 220.524mph 50.4109s
18. #10 Dario Franchitti 220.489mph 50.4188s
19. #34 Sebastian Saavedra 220.335mph 50.4540s
20. #19 Alex Lloyd 220.314mph 50.4589s
21. #83 Charlie Kimball 219.982mph 50.5351s
22. #22 Townsend Bell 219.942mph 50.5443s
23. #57 Tomas Scheckter 219.816mph 50.5733s
24. #11 Davey Hamilton 219.493mph 50.6477s
25. #14 Vitor Meira 219.273mph 50.6984s
26. #8 Paul Tracy 218.661mph 50.8403s
27. #15 Jay Howard 218.577mph 50.8598s
28. #77 Dan Wheldon 218.410mph 50.8987s
29. #30 Pippa Mann 218.157mph 50.9578s
30. #24 Ana Beatriz 218.153mph 50.9587s
31. #78 Simona de Silvestro 218.132mph 50.9637s
32. #59 EJ Viso No Time DNQ
33. #18 James Jakes No Time DNQ
34. #44 Buddy Rice 220.392mph 50.4410s DNQ

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tony Kanaan celebrates pole position at Last Vegas Motor Speedway for the season finale race. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Will Power Texas
James Davison
Will Power Indy 500 practice
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [credit: Chris Owens]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [Credit: IndyCar]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [Credit: Jim Haines/IndyCar]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Richard Dowdy)

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.