IndyCar »

Sebring - Test times - March 5

Ryan Hunter-Reay put Andretti Autosport at the top of the timesheets after the first day of official pre-season open testing at Sebring International Raceway.
Ryan Hunter-Reay's lap time of 52.5826s (114.334mph) was good enough to put Andretti Autosport top of the timesheets by 0.1266s over Penske's Helio Castroneves at the end of the first day of official pre-season testing at Sebring International Raceway.

Because of the short nature of the Sebring track, testing has been broken up into two groups this week, with 11 drivers originally scheduled to test on Monday and Tuesday and the remaining 15 due to run on Thursday and Friday.

However, one of the drivers originally slated to test on Monday - Lotus Dragon Racing's Sebastien Bourdais - failed to log any laps, apparently because the Lotus engine was not yet available to the team to start runs.

Monday practice times

1. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 114.334mph 52.5826s (60 laps)
2. #3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 114.060mph 52.7092s + 0.1266s (83 laps)
3. #77 Simon Pagenaud Honda 114.012mph 52.7311s + 0.1485s (81 laps)
4. #27 James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet 113.622mph 52.9125s + 0.3299s (76 laps)
5. #2 Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet 113.589mph 52.9275s + 0.3449s (63 laps)
6. #12 Will Power Chevrolet 113.324mph 53.0512s + 0.4686s (84 laps)
7. #18 Justin Wilson Honda 113.056mph 53.1770s + 0.5944s (59 laps)
8. #26 Marco Andretti Chevrolet 112.835mph 53.2814s + 0.6988s (68 laps)
9. #19 James Jakes Honda 111.486mph 53.9260s + 1.3434s (69 laps)
10. #78 Simona de Silvestro Lotus 110.183mph 54.5640s + 1.9814s (31 laps)

Total Laps for Combined Sessions: 674

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Hunter-Reay in his car. [Picture Credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media]
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, McLaren
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

JOHN - Unregistered

March 06, 2012 1:41 AM

Great to see the Chevy engine pulling alongside and ahead of the Honda! The same old story of the top teams Penske/ Andretti topping the timesheets. Sad that Lotus are so far off the pace even if its their first taste of IndyCar for ages

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.