IndyCar »

St Petersburg - Friday practice 1

Scott Dixon put Ganassi and Honda at the top of the timesheets in the first practice at St Petersburg, but Penske duo Ryan Briscoe and Will Power were close behind.
Scott Dixon topped the first practice at St Petersburg with a lap of 1:03.0406s (102.791mph) putting him almost half a second clear of second-place Ryan Briscoe, and improving on last year's time of 1:04.1437s in the same session.

The top Lotus-powered car of the session was Dreyer & Reinbold's Oriol Servia in 19th position, which still put him ahead of notable scalps Ed Carpenter and Rubens Barrichello, the former F1 driver ending up 24th after having to work hard to learn the street course and who only completed 8 laps.

Sebastien Bourdais got out on track despite mid-week fears that his Lotus engine might not be ready in time as a result of Dragon Racing having signed the engine supply deal for their second car after the original cut-off date. The four-time Champ Car champion even admitted that "I was getting my head around the fact we were not going to run," adding: "Now I've got to switch mode overnight and go racing."

Charlie Kimball was the subject of the only major incident during the first session when he ran off harmlessly into the tyre barrier at turn 10 late in the session. Dario Franchitti was among those who took to the run-off areas during the session without harm, while Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's Josef Newgarden only got 10 minutes of running in at the end of the session but still turned an impressive laptime to place 11th.

Practice 1

1. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 102.791mph 1m 03.0406s (15 laps)
2. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 102.017mph 1m 03.5190s + 0.4784s (18 laps)
3. #12 Will Power (C) 101.927mph 1m 03.5747s + 0.5341s (19 laps)
4. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 101.885mph 1m 03.6013s + 0.5607s (15 laps)
5. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 101.820mph 1m 03.6417s + 0.6011s (23 laps)
6. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 101.774mph 1m 03.6704s + 0.6298s (21 laps)
7. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 101.579mph 1m 03.7928s + 0.7522s (19 laps)
8. #14 Mike Conway (H) 101.514mph 1m 03.8333s + 0.7927s (20 laps)
9. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 101.484mph 1m 03.8522s + 0.8116s (16 laps)
10. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 101.452mph 1m 03.8728s + 0.8322s (15 laps)
11. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 101.445mph 1m 03.8772s + 0.8366s (8 laps)
12. #5 EJ Viso (C) 101.386mph 1m 03.9142s + 0.8736s (19 laps)
13. #19 James Jakes (H) 101.308mph 1m 03.9634s + 0.9228s (22 laps)
14. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 101.106mph 1m 04.0914s + 1.0508s (18 laps)
15. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 101.081mph 1m 04.1072s + 1.0666s (17 laps)
16. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 101.080mph 1m 04.1079s + 1.0673s (21 laps)
17. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 101.054mph 1m 04.1239s + 1.0833s (15 laps)
18. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 101.028mph 1m 04.1404s + 1.0998s (15 laps)
19. #22 Oriol Servia (L) 100.786mph 1m 04.2946s + 1.2540s (22 laps)
20. #98 Alex Tagliani (L) 100.643mph 1m 04.3861s + 1.3455s (21 laps)
21. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (L) 100.485mph 1m 04.4874s + 1.4468s (20 laps)
22. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 100.212mph 1m 04.6632s + 1.6226s (18 laps)
23. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 99.823mph 1m 04.9147s + 1.8741s (22 laps)
24. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 98.678mph 1m 05.6681s + 2.6275s (8 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 98.136mph 1m 06.0310s + 2.9904s (20 laps)
26. #6 Katherine Legge (L) 96.238mph 1m 07.3331s + 4.2925s (20 laps)

Total Laps: 467
(H) = Honda, (C) = Chevrolet, (L) = Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Scott Dixon [Picture Credit: Brett Kelley for IndyCar Media]
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing [credit: Chris Jones]
Sebastian Bourdais (KVSH Racing) celebrates in Detroit   [image creid: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Sebastian Bourdais - KVSH Racing   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Richard Dowdy)
Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Chris Jones]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.