IndyCar »

St Petersburg - Friday practice 2

Penske's Will Power and Ryan Briscoe went to the top of the timesheets in the second practice session on Friday on the streets of St Petersburg.
Will Power went to the top of the timesheets with a blistering lap of 1:02.0077s on the 1.8-mile temporary street course in St Petersburg, Florida on Friday afternoon, but that was a slender 0.0854s over his Penske team mate Ryan Briscoe who was second-fastest. Power topped the timesheets despite running only seven laps in the afternoon, the fewest of any driver.

While the next fastest car was that of Dario Franchitti some two tenths of a second back, the fact that 20 of the 26 cars running on the track were within a second of the leading time proved just how close in terms of performance the majority of the field was looking going into the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series opener this weekend.

Even two of the Lotus-powered cars made it into that 1s bracket, with HVM's Simona de Silvestro the highest placed in 16th and Sebastian Bourdais remarkably up in 19th place despite only receiving his engine the day before, having looked at one point as though he would be sitting out the first race of the season altogether.

One driver outside the 1s envelope was Rubens Barrichello, who continued to suffer from undisclosed mechanical problems that had curtailed his morning activities and prevented him from properly learning the circuit.

The second hour-long practice session saw two red flags, one for Simon Pagenaud stalling at the entry to pit lane and a second for James Jakes spinning and stalling his car.

Practice 2

1. #12 Will Power (C) 104.503mph 1m 02.0077s (7 laps)
2. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 104.359mph 1m 02.0931s + 0.0854s (17 laps)
3. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 104.141mph 1m 02.2232s + 0.2155s (20 laps)
4. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 104.026mph 1m 02.2924s + 0.2847s (23 laps)
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 103.993mph 1m 02.3117s + 0.3040s (16 laps)
6. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 103.981mph 1m 02.3190s + 0.3113s (13 laps)
7. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 103.741mph 1m 02.4632s + 0.4555s (25 laps)
8. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 103.711mph 1m 02.4814s + 0.4737s (20 laps)
9. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 103.630mph 1m 02.5301s + 0.5224s (18 laps)
10. #14 Mike Conway (H) 103.624mph 1m 02.5337s + 0.5260s (17 laps)
11. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 103.577mph 1m 02.5624s + 0.5547s (24 laps)
12. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 103.515mph 1m 02.5997s + 0.5920s (10 laps)
13. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 103.237mph 1m 02.7683s + 0.7606s (26 laps)
14. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 103.211mph 1m 02.7838s + 0.7761s (24 laps)
15. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 103.035mph 1m 02.8915s + 0.8838s (19 laps)
16. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 102.998mph 1m 02.9136s + 0.9059s (21 laps)
17. #19 James Jakes (H) 102.996mph 1m 02.9152s + 0.9075s (24 laps)
18. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 102.923mph 1m 02.9594s + 0.9517s (21 laps)
19. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (L) 102.893mph 1m 02.9778s + 0.9701s (22 laps)
20. #5 EJ Viso (C) 102.880mph 1m 02.9857s + 0.9780s (19 laps)
21. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 102.710mph 1m 03.0904s + 1.0827s (22 laps)
22. #98 Alex Tagliani (L) 102.562mph 1m 03.1812s + 1.1735s (24 laps)
23. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 102.323mph 1m 03.3290s + 1.3213s (25 laps)
24. #22 Oriol Servia (L) 102.283mph 1m 03.3535s + 1.3458s (26 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 100.305mph 1m 04.6031s + 2.5954s (21 laps)
26. #6 Katherine Legge (L) 100.063mph 1m 04.7592s + 2.7515s (23 laps)

Total Laps: 527
(H) = Honda, (C) = Chevrolet, (L) = Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power happy with the top time during Friday practice on the streets of Baltimore - September 2011. [Photo Credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Bret Kelley]
Sebastian Bourdais (KVSH Racing) celebrates in Detroit   [image creid: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Sebastian Bourdais - KVSH Racing   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [Credit: IndyCar]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [Credit: Jim Haines/IndyCar]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.