IndyCar »

Barber - Friday practice times

Penske's Will Power set an early fastest lap of the day in Alabama, with rain closing in as the day went on affecting all of the late afternoon practice session.
Will Power's early lap of 1:11.2886s (116.148mph) proved to be the fastest lap of the day in Friday practice ahead of the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park, when rain set in as the afternoon wore in and made the later practice 2 session something of a washout.

Friday practice 1

The first practice session was split into two half hour segments, with Group A consisting of rookies and those outside the top ten in points running from 12.30pm until 1pm, and Group B comprising all cars running from 1pm until 1.30pm.

1. #12 Will Power (C) 116.148mph 1m 11.2886s (16 laps)
2. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 115.803mph 1m 11.5010s + 0.2124s (18 laps)
3. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 115.706mph 1m 11.5608s + 0.2722s (21 laps)
4. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 115.661mph 1m 11.5884s + 0.2998s (19 laps)
5. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 115.638mph 1m 11.6028s + 0.3142s (25 laps)
6. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 115.600mph 1m 11.6263s + 0.3377s (17 laps)
7. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 115.513mph 1m 11.6800s + 0.3914s (19 laps)
8. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 115.479mph 1m 11.7015s + 0.4129s (15 laps)
9. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 115.414mph 1m 11.7415s + 0.4529s (16 laps)
10. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 115.075mph 1m 11.9529s + 0.6643s (20 laps)
11. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 114.949mph 1m 12.0320s + 0.7434s (14 laps)
12. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 114.910mph 1m 12.0564s + 0.7678s (18 laps)
13. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 114.868mph 1m 12.0826s + 0.7940s (13 laps)
14. #14 Mike Conway (H) 114.692mph 1m 12.1934s + 0.9048s (17 laps)
15. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 114.657mph 1m 12.2151s + 0.9265s (13 laps)
16. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (L) 114.236mph 1m 12.4818s + 1.1932s (23 laps)
17. #19 James Jakes (H) 114.204mph 1m 12.5018s + 1.2132s (23 laps)
18. #5 EJ Viso (C) 114.200mph 1m 12.5042s + 1.2156s (12 laps)
19. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 114.012mph 1m 12.6237s + 1.3351s (12 laps)
20. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 113.832mph 1m 12.7388s + 1.4502s (24 laps)
21. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 113.285mph 1m 13.0897s + 1.8011s (13 laps)
22. #98 Alex Tagliani (L) 112.692mph 1m 13.4746s + 2.1860s (16 laps)
23. #22 Oriol Servia (L) 112.659mph 1m 13.4960s + 2.2074s (7 laps)
24. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 112.038mph 1m 13.9034s + 2.6148s (3 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 111.034mph 1m 14.5717s + 3.2831s (17 laps)
26. #6 Katherine Legge (L) 108.498mph 1m 16.3147s + 5.0261s (20 laps)

Total Laps: 431

Friday practice 2

The second practice session consisted of a single hour-long session from 3.30pm, and was open to all drivers throughout. Conditions started damp and worsened considerably with heavy rain.

1. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 104.985mph 1m 18.8684s (3 laps)
2. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (L) 104.448mph 1m 19.2740s + 0.4056s (8 laps)
3. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 104.303mph 1m 19.3841s + 0.5157s (10 laps)
4. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 103.650mph 1m 19.8840s + 1.0156s (7 laps)
5. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 103.448mph 1m 20.0403s + 1.1719s (5 laps)
6. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 103.308mph 1m 20.1488s + 1.2804s (9 laps)
7. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 103.160mph 1m 20.2639s + 1.3955s (7 laps)
8. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 101.678mph 1m 21.4337s + 2.5653s (7 laps)
9. #5 EJ Viso (C) 101.590mph 1m 21.5038s + 2.6354s (7 laps)
10. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 101.572mph 1m 21.5188s + 2.6504s (8 laps)
11. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 101.380mph 1m 21.6733s + 2.8049s (6 laps)
12. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 101.330mph 1m 21.7132s + 2.8448s (6 laps)
13. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 100.688mph 1m 22.2339s + 3.3655s (6 laps)
14. #6 Katherine Legge (L) 99.777mph 1m 22.9852s + 4.1168s (11 laps)
15. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 99.134mph 1m 23.5229s + 4.6545s (2 laps)
16. #19 James Jakes (H) 98.142mph 1m 24.3674s + 5.4990s (5 laps)
17. #22 Oriol Servia (L) 97.952mph 1m 24.5312s + 5.6628s (2 laps)
18. #98 Alex Tagliani (L) No time (1 lap)

Total laps: 110

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power at Iowa Speedway for the Iowa Corn Indy 250. [Picture credit: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media]
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park,
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Mikhail Aleshin - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Chris Owens]
Mikhail Aleshin - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Mikhail Aleshin - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Ed Jones, Carlin, IndyLight [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) celebrates pole at Long Beach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Helio Castroneves - Team Penske    [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.