Chevrolet cars once again came out on top in qualifying for Sunday's Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park, but it wasn't quite the whitewash that had been seen in St Petersburg a week ago.

Penske's Helio Castroneves and Andretti Autosport's James Hinchcliffe made it an all-Chevy front row, but that was balanced by an all-Honda second row with Mike Conway excelling for AJ Foyt Racing finishing just behind Ganassi's Scott Dixon.

An eventful qualifying session saw a shock early elimination for Dario Franchitti and for Rubens Barrichello who was struggling with a lack of track time, while Will Power got caught out by a red flag triggered by Ryan Hunter-Rear in round 2. One of Power's Penske team mates Ryan Briscoe also fell in round 2 because of technical problems.

Starting grid

1. Helio Castroneves Penske-Chevrolet 117.485mph 1:10.477s
2. James Hinchcliffe Andretti-Chevrolet 117.41mph 1:10.522s
3. Scott Dixon Ganassi-Honda 117.398mph 1:10.529s
4. Mike Conway AJ Foyt-Honda 116.819mph 1:10.879s
5. JR Hildebrand Panther-Chevrolet 116.495mph 1:11.076s
6. Tony Kanaan KV Racing-Chevrolet 116.009mph 1:11.374s

Round 2:
7. EJ Viso KV Racing-Chevrolet 115.763mph 1:11.526s
8. Graham Rahal Ganassi-Honda 115.668mph 1:11.584s
9. Will Power Penske-Chevrolet 114.984mph 1:12.010s
10. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton-Honda 111.464mph 1:14.284s
11. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti-Chevrolet No time
12. Ryan Briscoe Penske-Chevrolet No time

Round 1:
13. Marco Andretti Andretti-Chevrolet 117.195mph 1:10.651s
14. Rubens Barrichello KV Racing-Chevrolet 117.336mph 1:10.566s
15. Josef Newgarden SFHR-Honda 117.139mph 1:10.685s
16. Takuma Sato RLL-Honda 117.262mph 1:10.611s
17. Sebastien Bourdais Dragon-Lotus 117.072mph 1:10.726s
18. Dario Franchitti Ganassi-Honda 117.156mph 1:10.675s
19. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne-Honda 115.719mph 1:11.552s
20. James Jakes Dale Coyne-Honda 117.028mph 1:10.753s
21. Simona de Silvestro HVM-Lotus 115.688mph 1:11.572s
22. Charlie Kimball Ganassi-Honda 116.032mph 1:11.359s
23. Alex Tagliani BHA-Lotus 114.084mph 1:12.578s
24. Ed Carpenter ECR-Chevrolet 115.213mph 1:11.867s
25. Katherine Legge Dragon-Lotus 112.43mph 1:13.646s
26. Oriol Servia Dreyer & Reinbold-Lotus 112.907mph 1:13.335s *

* includes ten-place grid penalty for engine change