IndyCar »

Alabama - Sunday warm-up

Simon Pagenaud leapt to the top of the Sunday morning warm-up time sheets in the last seconds of the half-hour session at a gloriously warm and sunny Barber Motorports Park.
Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsports' Simon Pagenaud raised eyebrows and impressed by leaping to the top of the timesheets in the half hour Sunday morning warm-up practice session at Barber Motorsports Park ahead of today's Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

His time of 1:11.241s (116.225mph) was set in the final seconds of the warm-up, and proved to be over a third of a second faster than Will Power, the driver that had looked easily the fastest man of the morning up till that point.

Conditions were warm and sunny today, a relief for the drivers who had lost running on Friday due to heavy rain and on Saturday to dense fog.

There was a brief early red flag in the session for Ryan Hunter-Reay stalling in turn 5 with reported wheel nut problems; and there was a second red later in the session when Sebastien Bourdais pulled over at the exit of turn 7 on the back straight.

According to early reports, Bourdais team boss at Lotus Dragon Racing, Jay Penske, stated that the engine had blown up. If true, it would be the third Lotus engine to fail over the weekend, with Oriol Servia and Alex Tagliani already having to take ten-place grid penalties for unscheduled engine changes this weekend.

Sunday warm-up

1. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton-Honda 116.225mph 1:11.241s (15 laps)
2. Will Power Penske-Chevrolet 115.678mph 1:11.578s + 0.337s (18 laps)
3. Takuma Sato RLL-Honda 115.493mph 1:11.693s + 0.451s (16 laps)
4. Helio Castroneves Penske-Chevrolet 115.108mph 1:11.932s + 0.691s (17 laps)
5. Graham Rahal Ganassi-Honda 114.94mph 1:12.038s + 0.796s (18 laps)
6. Scott Dixon Ganassi-Honda 114.925mph 1:12.047s + 0.806s (13 laps)
7. JR Hildebrand Panther-Chevrolet 114.814mph 1:12.117s + 0.875s (18 laps)
8. Mike Conway AJ Foyt-Honda 114.732mph 1:12.168s + 0.927s (18 laps)
9. Marco Andretti Andretti-Chevrolet 114.542mph 1:12.288s + 1.046s (15 laps)
10. Tony Kanaan KV Racing-Chevrolet 114.503mph 1:12.313s + 1.071s (15 laps)
11. Rubens Barrichello KV Racing-Chevrolet 114.443mph 1:12.350s + 1.109s (18 laps)
12. Ryan Briscoe Penske-Chevrolet 114.156mph 1:12.533s + 1.291s (18 laps)
13. James Hinchcliffe Andretti-Chevrolet 114.052mph 1:12.598s + 1.357s (16 laps)
14. Dario Franchitti Ganassi-Honda 113.922mph 1:12.681s + 1.440s (13 laps)
15. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti-Chevrolet 113.864mph 1:12.719s + 1.477s (14 laps)
16. James Jakes Dale Coyne-Honda 113.863mph 1:12.719s + 1.478s (15 laps)
17. Josef Newgarden SFHR-Honda 113.764mph 1:12.782s + 1.541s (18 laps)
18. Simona de Silvestro HVM-Lotus 113.291mph 1:13.086s + 1.845s (16 laps)
19. Alex Tagliani BHA-Lotus 113.269mph 1:13.100s + 1.859s (17 laps)
20. Charlie Kimball Ganassi-Honda 113.151mph 1:13.176s + 1.935s (14 laps)
21. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne-Honda 113.082mph 1:13.221s + 1.980s (13 laps)
22. Oriol Servia Dreyer & Reinbold-Lotus 112.688mph 1:13.477s + 2.236s (14 laps)
23. EJ Viso KV Racing-Chevrolet 112.448mph 1:13.634s + 2.393s (17 laps)
24. Ed Carpenter ECR-Chevrolet 110.192mph 1:15.142s + 3.900s (10 laps)
25. Katherine Legge Dragon-Lotus 109.65mph 1:15.513s + 4.272s (14 laps)
26. Sebastien Bourdais Dragon-Lotus No time (2 laps)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simon Pagenaud plans a full season in IndyCar in 2012. [hoto: IndyCar Media]
Sebastien Bourdais
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park,
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.