Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsports' Simon Pagenaud raised eyebrows and impressed by leaping to the top of the timesheets in the half hour Sunday morning warm-up practice session at Barber Motorsports Park ahead of today's Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

His time of 1:11.241s (116.225mph) was set in the final seconds of the warm-up, and proved to be over a third of a second faster than Will Power, the driver that had looked easily the fastest man of the morning up till that point.

Conditions were warm and sunny today, a relief for the drivers who had lost running on Friday due to heavy rain and on Saturday to dense fog.

There was a brief early red flag in the session for Ryan Hunter-Reay stalling in turn 5 with reported wheel nut problems; and there was a second red later in the session when Sebastien Bourdais pulled over at the exit of turn 7 on the back straight.

According to early reports, Bourdais team boss at Lotus Dragon Racing, Jay Penske, stated that the engine had blown up. If true, it would be the third Lotus engine to fail over the weekend, with Oriol Servia and Alex Tagliani already having to take ten-place grid penalties for unscheduled engine changes this weekend.

Sunday warm-up

1. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton-Honda 116.225mph 1:11.241s (15 laps)
2. Will Power Penske-Chevrolet 115.678mph 1:11.578s + 0.337s (18 laps)
3. Takuma Sato RLL-Honda 115.493mph 1:11.693s + 0.451s (16 laps)
4. Helio Castroneves Penske-Chevrolet 115.108mph 1:11.932s + 0.691s (17 laps)
5. Graham Rahal Ganassi-Honda 114.94mph 1:12.038s + 0.796s (18 laps)
6. Scott Dixon Ganassi-Honda 114.925mph 1:12.047s + 0.806s (13 laps)
7. JR Hildebrand Panther-Chevrolet 114.814mph 1:12.117s + 0.875s (18 laps)
8. Mike Conway AJ Foyt-Honda 114.732mph 1:12.168s + 0.927s (18 laps)
9. Marco Andretti Andretti-Chevrolet 114.542mph 1:12.288s + 1.046s (15 laps)
10. Tony Kanaan KV Racing-Chevrolet 114.503mph 1:12.313s + 1.071s (15 laps)
11. Rubens Barrichello KV Racing-Chevrolet 114.443mph 1:12.350s + 1.109s (18 laps)
12. Ryan Briscoe Penske-Chevrolet 114.156mph 1:12.533s + 1.291s (18 laps)
13. James Hinchcliffe Andretti-Chevrolet 114.052mph 1:12.598s + 1.357s (16 laps)
14. Dario Franchitti Ganassi-Honda 113.922mph 1:12.681s + 1.440s (13 laps)
15. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti-Chevrolet 113.864mph 1:12.719s + 1.477s (14 laps)
16. James Jakes Dale Coyne-Honda 113.863mph 1:12.719s + 1.478s (15 laps)
17. Josef Newgarden SFHR-Honda 113.764mph 1:12.782s + 1.541s (18 laps)
18. Simona de Silvestro HVM-Lotus 113.291mph 1:13.086s + 1.845s (16 laps)
19. Alex Tagliani BHA-Lotus 113.269mph 1:13.100s + 1.859s (17 laps)
20. Charlie Kimball Ganassi-Honda 113.151mph 1:13.176s + 1.935s (14 laps)
21. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne-Honda 113.082mph 1:13.221s + 1.980s (13 laps)
22. Oriol Servia Dreyer & Reinbold-Lotus 112.688mph 1:13.477s + 2.236s (14 laps)
23. EJ Viso KV Racing-Chevrolet 112.448mph 1:13.634s + 2.393s (17 laps)
24. Ed Carpenter ECR-Chevrolet 110.192mph 1:15.142s + 3.900s (10 laps)
25. Katherine Legge Dragon-Lotus 109.65mph 1:15.513s + 4.272s (14 laps)
26. Sebastien Bourdais Dragon-Lotus No time (2 laps)