IndyCar »

Long Beach - Starting grid

The official starting grid and tyre designation for Sunday afternoon's Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach has finally been released.
The official starting grid for today's IZOD IndyCar Series race at Long Beach has been confirmed, less than two hours before the scheduled start of the race itself.

The order differs substantially from the results of the Saturday qualifying times, after 14 cars were hit by ten-place grid penalties following unscheduled engines changes for the entire Chevrolet stable as well as three of the Lotus-powered cars.

Penske duo Ryan Briscoe and Will Power topped the qualifying Firestone Fast Six session but will start from 11th and 12th place in the race. Ganassi's Dario Franchitti and Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's rookie star Josef Newgarden inherit the front row after the penalties are applied.

Starting grid

1. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) Alternate tyres
2. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) Alternate tyres
3. #18 Justin Wilson (H) Alternate tyres
4. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) Alternate tyres
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) Alternate tyres
6. #15 Takuma Sato (H) Primary tyres
7. #14 Mike Conway (H) Alternate tyres
8. #38 Graham Rahal (H) Alternate tyres
9. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) Alternate tyres
10. #98 Alex Tagliani (L) Alternate tyres
11. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) Primary tyres *
12. #12 Will Power (C) Primary tyres *
13. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) Primary tyres *
14. #19 James Jakes (H) Alternate tyres
15. #5 EJ Viso (C) Primary tyres *
16. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) Primary tyres *
17. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) Primary tyres
18. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) Primary tyres *
19. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) Primary tyres *
20. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) Alternate tyres *
21. #26 Marco Andretti (C) Primary tyres *
22. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) Primary tyres *
23. #22 Oriol Servia (L) Primary tyres *
24. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) Primary tyres *
25. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (L) Primary tyres *
26. #6 Katherine Legge (L) Alternate tyres *

* = after ten-place grid penalty for engine change

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The scene at Long Beach, California. [Photo credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.