IndyCar »

Indy 500: Saturday qualifying order

Tony Kanaan will start off the qualifying runs at 11am local time at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday, with Katherine Legge, Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti also out early.
Thanks to a blind draw held on Friday evening, KV Racing Technology's Tony Kanaan will have the honour of being first out on track at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway to make the first qualifying run for the 96th running of the Indy 500.

There will then be a quick chance to assess the qualifying speed of the Lotus engine, with Simona de Silvestro drawing second position in qualifying order. Katherine Legge, Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti are also out early.

Each car gets two warm-up laps before the timed qualification run starts: the run consists of four timed laps with the aggregate time recorded as the official qualifying time for the car.

As well as each driver's main car, they will also need to set a qualifying time for their spare (T) car in case anything happens to the primary car. Not all T-cars will run, and Ed Carpenter's unused second entry is certainly likely to remain in the garage.

Once the initial qualifying order has been completed, cars will be able to return to the inspection line to await a slot for another run, for a maximum of three runs on Saturday (time permitting.)

Saturday's qualifying session - after a final one-hour warm-up practice session - runs from 11am until 4pm. After a half-hour break, the top nine cars then have a 90 minute shootout to set the first three rows of the grid for the Indy 500 on May 27.

Pit stall order is set by the positions after the initial five-hour qualifying session.

Last year's pole position time for the centennial Indy 500 was set by Alex Tagliani with a speed of 227.472mph.

Qualifying order

1. #11 Tony Kanaan
2. #78 Simona de Silvestro
3. #14T Mike Conway
4. #38T Graham Rahal
5. #6 Katherine Legge
6. #9T Scott Dixon
7. #99 Townsend Bell
8. #9 Scott Dixon
9. #50T Dario Franchitti
10. #30T Michel Jourdain
11. #12 Will Power
12. #83 Charlie Kimball
13. #7 Sebastien Bourdais
14. #3 Helio Castroneves
15. #22T Oriol Servia
16. #41 Wade Cunningham
17. #11T Tony Kanaan
18. #20T Ed Carpenter
19. #17 Sebastian Saavedra
20. #26T Marco Andretti
21. #18 Justin Wilson
22. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay
23. #19 James Jakes
24. #39 Bryan Clauson
25. #50 Dario Franchitti
26. #28T Ryan Hunter-Reay
27. #38 Graham Rahal
28. #67 Josef Newgarden
29. #18T Justin Wilson
30. #19T James Jakes
31. #2 Ryan Briscoe
32. #25 Ana Beatriz
33. #15T Takuma Sato
34. #64 Jean Alesi
35. #20 Ed Carpenter
36. #30 Michel Jourdain
37. #8 Rubens Barrichello
38. #4T JR Hildebrand
39. #15 Takuma Sato
40. #22 Oriol Servia
41. #99T Townsend Bell
42. #7T Sebastien Bourdais
43. #2T Ryan Briscoe
44. #5 EJ Viso
45. #12T Will Power
46. #4 JR Hildebrand
47. #98T Alex Tagliani
48. #83T Charlie Kimball
49. #41T Wade Cunningham
50. #8T Rubens Barrichello
51. #77 Simon Pagenaud
52. #27 James Hinchcliffe
53. #3T Helio Castroneves
54. #5T EJ Viso
55. #26 Marco Andretti
56. #27T James Hinchcliffe
57. #98 Alex Tagliani
58. #14 Mike Conway
59. #77T Simon Pagenaud
60. #67T Josef Newgarden
61. #21 TBA Ed Carpenter Racing second car)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simona De Silvestro (#78) during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012, F. Peirce Williams, LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Tony Kanaan #11 GEICO Mouser Electronics KVRT on track during practice at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 12-17 May 2012 Indiana USA. (c) 2012 Dan R. Boyd LAT Photo USA. (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.