Ryan Briscoe put Penske and Chevrolet onto pole position for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500 with a lap speed of 226.484mph (2:38.9514s in total for four timed laps) on Saturday.

That kept him narrowly ahead of Andretti Autosport duo James Hinchcliffe (226.481mph, 2:38.9537s) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (226.240mph, 2:39.1233s) who will join Briscoe on the three-wide front row for the Indy 500 on May 27.

Overall the qualifying day was a triumph for Chevrolet, which secured nine of the ten top spots in the main part of qualifying. Only Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's Josef Newgarden made it into the fast nine pole shootout for Honda. Ganassi had a poor time of it, with Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti a long way from making it into the pole shootout having to settle for 15th and 16th positions respectively.

There were three crashes during the day, for Bryan Clauson, Oriol Servia and Ed Carpenter. Sebastian Saavedra blew a Chevry engine early on but returned later to set a qualifying time inside the top 24. Tony Kanaan and Mike Conway both had times deleted for technical infringements.

Those who did not finish in the top 24 will make new qualifying runs on Sunday for positions on the back three rows of the grid.

Fast nine pole shoot-out times:

1. Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet 226.484mph 2:38.9514s
2. James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet 226.481mph 2:38.9537s -0.0023
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 226.240mph 2:39.1233s -0.1719
4. Marco Andretti Chevrolet 225.456mph 2:39.6766s -0.7252
5. Will Power Chevrolet 225.422mph 2:39.7004s -0.749
6. Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 225.172mph 2:39.8780s -0.9266
7. Josef Newgarden Honda 224.037mph 2:40.6879s -1.7365
8. Tony Kanaan Chevrolet No time
9. EJ Viso Chevrolet No time

Pole Day qualifying:

1. James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet 225.746mph 2:39.4715s
2. Will Power Chevrolet 225.399mph 2:39.7167s -0.2452
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 225.289mph 2:39.7948s -0.3233
4. Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 225.282mph 2:39.7996s -0.3281
5. Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet 225.078mph 2:39.9446s -0.4731
6. Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 224.751mph 2:40.1775s -0.706
7. Marco Andretti Chevrolet 224.680mph 2:40.2278s -0.7563
8. Josef Newgarden Honda 224.677mph 2:40.2298s -0.7583
9. EJ Viso Chevrolet 224.422mph 2:40.4119s -0.9404
10. Rubens Barrichello Chevrolet 224.264mph 2:40.5253s -1.0538
11. Alex Tagliani Honda 224.000mph 2:40.7144s -1.2429
12. Graham Rahal Honda 223.959mph 2:40.7437s -1.2722
13. Ana Beatriz Chevrolet 223.920mph 2:40.7720s -1.3005
14. Charlie Kimball Honda 223.868mph 2:40.8093s -1.3378
15. Scott Dixon Honda 223.684mph 2:40.9413s -1.4698
16. Dario Franchitti Honda 223.582mph 2:41.0144s -1.5429
17. James Jakes Honda 223.482mph 2:41.0866s -1.6151
18. JR Hildebrand Chevrolet 223.422mph 2:41.1299s -1.6584
19. Takuma Sato Honda 223.392mph 2:41.1517s -1.6802
20. Townsend Bell Honda 223.134mph 2:41.3377s -1.8662
21. Justin Wilson Honda 222.929mph 2:41.4865s -2.015
22. Michel Jourdain Honda 222.893mph 2:41.5124s -2.0409
23. Simon Pagenaud Honda 222.891mph 2:41.5138s -2.0423
24. Sebastian Saavedra Chevrolet 222.811mph 2:41.5720s -2.1005

Bumped: Wade Cunningham Honda 222.689mph 2:41.6605s Mike Conway Honda 222.434mph 2:41.8458s Sebastien Bourdais Chevrolet 222.415mph 2:41.8595s

Waived off: Katherine Legge Chevrolet

No time/crashed: Bryan Clauson Honda Ed Carpenter Chevrolet Oriol Servia Chevrolet

No attempt: Jean Alesi Lotus Simona de Silvestro Lotus