IndyCar »

Indy 500: Practice 9 times

When the track was not in use for qualifying runs on Bump Day, it was opened up for teams to use as a general practice session.
While qualifying for the Indy 500 was the initial focus on Bump Day, once that was complete the Indianapolis Motor Speedway track was declared open for general practice.

The fastest laps for each driver who went out during this designated practice session are shown below; the times also include the warm-up times from first thing on Sunday morning, where applicable.

The next scheduled practice is an hour long session on Carb Day - Friday, May 25 - when teams get to shakedown their new engines supplied and fitted especially for the Indianapolis 500 race two days later.

Practice 9

1. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 223.752mph 40.2231s (37 laps)
2. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 223.479mph 40.2722s + 0.0491s (76 laps)
3. #20T Ed Carpenter (C) 222.886mph 40.3793s + 0.1562s (62 laps)
4. #41 Wade Cunningham (H) 222.794mph 40.3961s + 0.1730s (57 laps)
5. #6 Katherine Legge (C) 222.156mph 40.5121s + 0.2890s (35 laps)
6. #14 Mike Conway (H) 221.423mph 40.6461s + 0.4230s (66 laps)
7. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 221.140mph 40.6982s + 0.4751s (44 laps)
8. #12 Will Power (C) 220.640mph 40.7904s + 0.5673s (100 laps)
9. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 220.495mph 40.8173s + 0.5942s (83 laps)
10. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 220.217mph 40.8688s + 0.6457s (75 laps)
11. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 220.090mph 40.8924s + 0.6693s (115 laps)
12. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 219.953mph 40.9179s + 0.6948s (61 laps)
13. #50 Dario Franchitti (H) 219.911mph 40.9256s + 0.7025s (114 laps)
14. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 219.749mph 40.9558s + 0.7327s (66 laps)
15. #5 EJ Viso (C) 219.644mph 40.9754s + 0.7523s (60 laps)
16. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 219.350mph 41.0304s + 0.8073s (58 laps)
17. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 219.347mph 41.0309s + 0.8078s (49 laps)
18. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 219.330mph 41.0340s + 0.8109s (78 laps)
19. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 219.197mph 41.0590s + 0.8359s (37 laps)
20. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 219.003mph 41.0953s + 0.8722s (47 laps)
21. #17 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 218.939mph 41.1074s + 0.8843s (57 laps)
22. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 218.905mph 41.1137s + 0.8906s (79 laps)
23. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 218.831mph 41.1277s + 0.9046s (71 laps)
24. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 218.572mph 41.1763s + 0.9532s (87 laps)
25. #30 Michel Jourdain (H) 218.489mph 41.1920s + 0.9689s (90 laps)
26. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 218.346mph 41.2189s + 0.9958s (90 laps)
27. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 218.074mph 41.2704s + 1.0473s (14 laps)
28. #99 Townsend Bell (H) 217.829mph 41.3169s + 1.0938s (42 laps)
29. #39 Bryan Clauson (H) 216.649mph 41.5419s + 1.3188s (48 laps)
30. #19 James Jakes (H) 216.226mph 41.6231s + 1.4000s (65 laps)
31. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 214.498mph 41.9584s + 1.7353s (30 laps)
32. #64 Jean Alesi (L) 209.156mph 43.0301s + 2.8070s (8 laps)
33. #25 Ana Beatriz (C) 182.215mph 49.3923s + 9.1692s (6 laps)

Total Laps: 2007
C=Chevy, H=Honda, L=Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Oriol Servia #22 Panther Dreyer & Reinbold Racing during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012 Dan R. Boyd LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Dallara, IndyCar, [Credit: IndyCar]
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones celebrates winning the 2016 Indy Lights championship
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Indy Lights action
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Santiago Urrutia - Schmidt Petersen Motorsport
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.