IndyCar »

Indy 500: Race results

Dario Franchitti won the 2012 Indianapolis 500 after Takuma Sato spun trying to pass him for the lead just after the white flag came out at the start of the final lap.
Dario Franchitti is a three-time winner of the Indianapolis 500 after holding off late challenges from Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan, and finally from Takuma Sato who spun into the wall while trying to pass Franchitti on the low line at the white flag.

Franchitti had needed to recover from an early disastrous pit stop that relegated him to the back of the field after he was punted into a spin by EJ Viso.

Marco Andretti, Mike Conway and Will Power all exited the race through accidents, while Josef Newgarden, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Bryan Clauson and Wade Cunningham all retired with technical problems. Lotus pair Jean Alesi and Simona de Silvestro were parked just ten laps into the race for being outside the 105 per cent speed margin of the leaders.

Race results

1. #50 Dario Franchitti Honda 2:58:51.2532s (200 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon Honda + 0.0295s
3. #11 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet + 0.0677s
4. #22 Oriol Servia Chevrolet + 2.9166s
5. #2 Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet + 3.6721s
6. #27 James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet + 4.0962s
7. #18 Justin Wilson Honda + 4.2430s
8. #83 Charlie Kimball Honda + 4.6056s
9. #99 Townsend Bell Honda + 5.6168s
10. #3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet + 7.6352s
11. #8 Rubens Barrichello Chevrolet + 7.9240s
12. #98 Alex Tagliani Honda + 8.2543s
13. #38 Graham Rahal Honda + 8.7539s
14. #4 JR Hildebrand Chevrolet + 11.3423s
15. #19 James Jakes Honda + 13.4494s
16. #77 Simon Pagenaud Honda + 14.1382s
17. #15 Takuma Sato Honda + 1 laps (Contact)
18. #5 EJ Viso Chevrolet + 1 laps (199 laps)
19. #30 Michel Jourdain Honda + 1 laps (199 laps)
20. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Chevrolet + 1 laps (199 laps)
21. #20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet + 1 laps (199 laps)
22. #6 Katherine Legge Chevrolet + 1 laps (199 laps)
23. #25 Ana Beatriz Chevrolet + 10 laps (190 laps)


24. #26 Marco Andretti Chevrolet + 13 laps (Contact)
25. #67 Josef Newgarden Honda + 39 laps (Mechanical)
26. #17 Sebastian Saavedra Chevrolet + 57 laps (Electrical)
27. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet + 77 laps (Suspension)
28. #12 Will Power Chevrolet + 121 laps (Contact)
29. #14 Mike Conway Honda + 122 laps (Contact)
30. #39 Bryan Clauson Honda + 154 laps (Mechanical)
31. #41 Wade Cunningham Honda + 158 laps (Electrical)
32. #78 Simona de Silvestro Lotus + 190 laps (105 per cent rule)
33. #64 Jean Alesi Lotus + 191 laps (105 per cent rule)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
After a restart, Simon Pagenaud (#77) leads Scott Dixon (#9), Alex Tagliani (#98), Michel Jourdain, Jr. (#30), Dario Franchitti (#50), Sebastian Saavedra (#17), Ryan Hunter-Reay (#28), Graham Rahal (#38), Charlie Kimball (#83) and Helio Castroneves (#3) into turn one. 96th Indianapolis 500 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - 27 May 2012. (c) 2012, F. Peirce Williams. LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Dario Franchitti, James Hinchcliffe, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Sebastian Saavedra and Ryan Briscoe. 96th Indianapolis 500 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - 27 May 2012. (c) 2012, Phillip Abbott. LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Luca Filippi   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing [credit: Chris Jones]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson [credit: Chris Owens]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Spencer Pigot - Ed Carpenter Racing
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Bret Kelley]
Sebastian Bourdais (KVSH Racing) celebrates in Detroit   [image creid: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Sebastian Bourdais - KVSH Racing   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Alex Rossi, Indy 500 [Credit: IndyCar]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport [credit: Walter Kuhn]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.