IndyCar »

Detroit Belle Isle: Qualifying times

Ryan Briscoe's day continued to be eventful, when he looked to be on a final charge to get into the top six when he brushed the wall with his left rear and caused a puncture that left him crawling back to pit lane, neither he nor Castroneves able to join their Penske team mate Will Power in the Firestone Fast Six despite clearly impressive speed.

1. Will Power Penske-Chevrolet 105.706mph 1:10.498s (4 laps)
2. Scott Dixon Ganassi-Honda 105.685mph 1:10.512s + 0.014s (4 laps)
3. Alex Tagliani BHA-Honda 105.588mph 1:10.577s + 0.079s (3 laps)
4. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton-Honda 105.396mph 1:10.705s + 0.207s (5 laps)
5. EJ Viso KV Racing-Chevrolet 105.06mph 1:10.931s + 0.434s (5 laps)
6. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti-Chevrolet 105.047mph 1:10.940s + 0.442s (5 laps)
7. Graham Rahal Ganassi-Honda 105.041mph 1:10.943s + 0.446s (6 laps)
8. Ryan Briscoe Penske-Chevrolet 104.963mph 1:10.996s + 0.499s (4 laps)
9. Helio Castroneves Penske-Chevrolet 104.947mph 1:11.008s + 0.510s (5 laps)
10. Sebastien Bourdais Dragon-Chevrolet 104.718mph 1:11.162s + 0.665s (5 laps)
11. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne-Honda 104.461mph 1:11.338s + 0.840s (5 laps)
12. Takuma Sato RLL-Honda 103.771mph 1:11.812s + 1.315s (6 laps)

Round 3 - Firestone Fast Six

The final six drivers left in contention were Power, Dixon, Tagliani, Paganeud, Viso and Hunter-Reay: not only did that keep the even split in numbers of Honda and Chevrolet runners, it also meant that six different teams had made it into the top six pole shootout for the first time in 2012.

As ever, it wasn't until under seven minutes to go that cars started to come out to play on the 2.07-mile, 14-turn Belle Isle street course. Finally Ryan Hunter-Reay blinked first and headed out with Power, Dixon and Pagenaud in hot pursuit. Tagliani and finally Viso were the last to rouse themselves, cutting it very fine to get three runs in before the chequered flag.

Hunter-Reay's first effort was a 1:12.9466s but Power immediately wiped off six tenths from that to take provisional pole. Hunter-Reay improved but Power posted a time of 1:11.3263s.

Pagenaud demonstrated that he wasn't about to let the championship leader have it his own way by going top with 1:11.2862s, but Viso continued his strong day with a lap of 1:11.0852s.

Then normal service was resumed with first Power going top with a lap of 1:10.7592 and then Dixon going even faster with a lap of 1:10.6700s. Those times proved too fast for Pagenaud whose next next lap was still half a second off the provisional pole.

Dixon and Power went even faster with their next laps as the chequered flag came out while Alex Tagliani put in a flier of 1:10.6684s to steal third from Pagenaud. Viso was unable to improve on his earlier laptime, and Hunter-Reay seemed to have settled for simply being on the third row for the start of the race.

1. Scott Dixon Ganassi-Honda 105.978mph 1:10.316s (4 laps)
2. Will Power Penske-Chevrolet 105.972mph 1:10.321s + 0.004s (5 laps)
3. Alex Tagliani BHA-Honda 105.45mph 1:10.668s + 0.352s (3 laps)
4. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton-Honda 105.191mph 1:10.843s + 0.526s (4 laps)
5. EJ Viso KV Racing-Chevrolet 104.832mph 1:11.085s + 0.769s (3 laps)
6. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti-Chevrolet 104.288mph 1:11.456s + 1.140s (5 laps)

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power in the #12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet during pre-season testing at Sebring. March 2012. [Photo Credit: Michael Levitt - LAT for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt. LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit Indy Conor Daly
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.