Scott Dixon clinched pole position by 0.0044s over Will Power on the 2.07-mile, 14-turn Detroit Belle Isle street course on Saturday afternoon to put them on the front row of the grid for the start on Sunday's race.

The top six cars are all from different teams. Dixon's Ganassi team mates Graham Rahal (7th), Dario Franchitti (15th) and Charlie Kimball (21st) had an overall disappointing day of it, while Power's team mates Ryan Briscoe (8th) and Helio Castroneves (9th) both narrowly failed to make it through Round 2.

Bryan Herta Autosport's Alex Tagliani and Schmidt-Hamilton's Simon Pagenaud did outstandingly to form the second row of the grid, while KV Racing's EJ Viso and Andretti's Ryan Hunter-Reay also both performed impressively to make it onto the third row given that none of their team mates survived even the first round of qualifying.

Sebastien Bourdais made up for a frustrating week for Dragon Racing - which saw the team forced to to slim down to a one-car operation for the foreseeable future - by claiming a top ten starting position for Sunday.

Full times from the three-round qualifying session are also available.

Starting grid

1. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 105.978mph 1:10.3162s
2. #12 Will Power (C) 105.972mph 1:10.3206s
3. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 105.450mph 1:10.6684s
4. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 105.191mph 1:10.8426s
5. #5 EJ Viso (C) 104.832mph 1:11.0852s
6. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 104.288mph 1:11.4557s

7. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 105.041mph 1:10.9434s
8. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 104.963mph 1:10.9964s
9. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 104.947mph 1:11.0076s
10. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 104.718mph 1:11.1624s
11. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 104.461mph 1:11.3376s
12. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 103.771mph 1:11.8122s

13. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 103.347mph 1:12.1068s
14. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 104.003mph 1:11.6519s
15. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 103.031mph 1:12.3276s
16. #14 Mike Conway (H) 104.003mph 1:11.6521s
17. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 102.679mph 1:12.5754s
18. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 103.777mph 1:11.8080s
19. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 102.668mph 1:12.5835s
20. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 102.921mph 1:12.4052s
21. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 102.667mph 1:12.5844s
22. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 102.643mph 1:12.6014s
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 99.517mph 1:14.8816s
24. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 102.570mph 1:12.6531s
25. #19 James Jakes (H) 102.297mph 1:12.8469s

(H)= Honda, (C)= Chevrolet, (L)= Lotus