IndyCar »

Detroit Belle Isle: Starting grid

Scott Dixon and Will Power will start from the front row for Sunday's Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix, while Dario Franchitti will have to fight back from 15th.
Scott Dixon clinched pole position by 0.0044s over Will Power on the 2.07-mile, 14-turn Detroit Belle Isle street course on Saturday afternoon to put them on the front row of the grid for the start on Sunday's race.

The top six cars are all from different teams. Dixon's Ganassi team mates Graham Rahal (7th), Dario Franchitti (15th) and Charlie Kimball (21st) had an overall disappointing day of it, while Power's team mates Ryan Briscoe (8th) and Helio Castroneves (9th) both narrowly failed to make it through Round 2.

Bryan Herta Autosport's Alex Tagliani and Schmidt-Hamilton's Simon Pagenaud did outstandingly to form the second row of the grid, while KV Racing's EJ Viso and Andretti's Ryan Hunter-Reay also both performed impressively to make it onto the third row given that none of their team mates survived even the first round of qualifying.

Sebastien Bourdais made up for a frustrating week for Dragon Racing - which saw the team forced to to slim down to a one-car operation for the foreseeable future - by claiming a top ten starting position for Sunday.

Full times from the three-round qualifying session are also available.

Starting grid

1. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 105.978mph 1:10.3162s
2. #12 Will Power (C) 105.972mph 1:10.3206s
3. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 105.450mph 1:10.6684s
4. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 105.191mph 1:10.8426s
5. #5 EJ Viso (C) 104.832mph 1:11.0852s
6. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 104.288mph 1:11.4557s

7. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 105.041mph 1:10.9434s
8. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 104.963mph 1:10.9964s
9. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 104.947mph 1:11.0076s
10. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 104.718mph 1:11.1624s
11. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 104.461mph 1:11.3376s
12. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 103.771mph 1:11.8122s

13. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 103.347mph 1:12.1068s
14. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 104.003mph 1:11.6519s
15. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 103.031mph 1:12.3276s
16. #14 Mike Conway (H) 104.003mph 1:11.6521s
17. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 102.679mph 1:12.5754s
18. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 103.777mph 1:11.8080s
19. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 102.668mph 1:12.5835s
20. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 102.921mph 1:12.4052s
21. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 102.667mph 1:12.5844s
22. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 102.643mph 1:12.6014s
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 99.517mph 1:14.8816s
24. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 102.570mph 1:12.6531s
25. #19 James Jakes (H) 102.297mph 1:12.8469s

(H)= Honda, (C)= Chevrolet, (L)= Lotus

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power in the #12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet during pre-season testing at Sebring. March 2012. [Photo Credit: Michael Levitt - LAT for IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt. LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Don - Unregistered

June 02, 2012 11:01 PM

Carpenter being an oval specialist is not a surprise, but Marco is. Biggest surprise is Rubens qualifying 20th, behind both team mates again. He's realizing there are many good drivers in IndyCar.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.